Spring in South Texas: Quickie Visual Backyard Tour

in #homesteading6 years ago

Here's a snapshot tour of things I wanted to share this morning. Let me show you a few things growing in my backyard here in San Antonio!

20180510_072730.jpg

This is Plantain, a wild plant that has, as I understand it, a LOT of medicinal values. It's also just plain good green food. If you're a northerner, your plantain will look similar but will have much broader leaves.

20180510_072746.jpg

This is Wood Sorrel (looks a lot like clover). This too is a wild edible (not sure about medicinal value), and in fact is one of the tastiest edibles I've sampled so far! Tastes zesty and tangy, like it was dipped in lemon juice kind of. I know for a fact this grows EVERYWHERE, because as a kid we used to nibble on it up in Missouri. Good stuff. Remember, there are no weeds, just misunderstood plants!

20180510_072807.jpg

This is a mature buckwheat plant. Not a native plant, I put some seeds out a few weeks back. Each of those white flowers will turn into a single buckwheat kernel. Buckwheat is a gluten-free grain that is pretty tasty. The flowers are also great for bees to drink from. :)

20180510_072857.jpg

This is a lesson in patience for all of us. On January 7th, my family and I went to IHOP after church and the lemons they used for our waters were very unique and tasty. So, we kept the seeds and planted them after we got home. The guy in this picture just sprouted a WEEK AGO. I had given up on it ever growing, and then TADA! There it was. Tree seeds do not necessarily germinate quickly, so if you plant a tree seed, be ready to wait at LEAST 6 months before you totally give up on it. I've had them sprout much faster, but i've also commonly seen them sprout this slowly as well.

20180510_072956.jpg

These are a few of the clusters of Concord grapes growing on our grape arbor. We have two 6 or 7 year old vines that love to produce grapes every spring for us.

20180510_072940.jpg

This is one of two volunteer sunflowers that I let grow (didn't mow). It is growing in what used to be our chicken pen, and is most certainly a product of the food I used to feed them. I've had all KINDS of things sprout up voluntarily in the chicken pen! Tomatoes, corn, milo, wheat, and millet.

Thanks for taking a quick tour with me! I hope it inspires you to do some of your own homesteading experiments as well, regardless of how "in town" or small or limited your environment may be. You really CAN do a lot with a little if you get creative and have the desire!

Sort:  

Congratulations @biohackerpro! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @biohackerpro! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75