Make A Feeder Silo For Your ChickenssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

silo.jpg

I am sure you are all familiar with these mason jar galvanized feeders.


I was looking for a way to extend the use, and capacity of these for my chickens as they got bigger. The mason jars don't hold enough for several grown chickens. They run out fast, and are a little bit of trouble to refill. If you go out of town for a couple of days, it is good to know your girls, and boys, have plenty of food.

One day I was fooling around in the shed, and saw some three inch PVC pipe just layin' there.


To my amazement it slipped down over the outer rim of the feeder. It fits tight.

All I had to do was figure out what height to make it. I drilled a couple of small holes into the bottom of the pipe to turn some screws into the feeder to fasten it tight.

I made this one first about eight inches tall. I cut it using a hand saw. It cuts easily.

I then drilled couple of holes near the top to put a bail through. I just used some stiff wire I had already. A coat hanger would work here, as would rope.


silo 1.jpg

What I like is I can just dump the food into it from the top. I top it off if it gets about half empty. I have found that using this with pellets keeps my chickens from billing the food out on the ground, and wasting it. I have had good luck here, by hanging the silos about the head height of the chickens.

These silos could be painted, and decorated. Anything goes using your imagination. They are also good for dispensing grit, and calcium for your chickens. I have made several, for them. It is also good I think to have several to keep the chickens from competing at the feeders.

[Until later, watch more Chicken TV]

82nd_Crest.jpgPremium Original (Badge).pngBS Farms Badger.pngChicken vector.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57687.08
ETH 2333.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36