Building A Raised Garden Bed From Raw LogssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Garden Bed.jpg

I got the itch to start a garden space today.

I decided to use some logs from my property instead of using dimensional lumber.

IMG_2644.jpg

I picked some logs that I cut down earlier while clearing brush, to let some sunlight in.

IMG_2655.jpg
Sawed off some lengths.

IMG_2660.jpg
Dragged them to my new garden spot.

IMG_2669.jpg
Found a Shiny New Beetle under the logs.

IMG_2672.jpg
I think he came from this oval hole.

IMG_2686.jpg

Notched the ends.

IMG_2689.jpg

Looking good.

IMG_2702.jpg

Notches fit well.

IMG_2703.jpg

IMG_2697.jpg
Bolted them together with TimberLok 6 inch bolts.
IMG_2704.jpg

Screen Shot 2018-03-19 at 9.00.52 PM.jpg

All tight, and snug. Ready, Set, Plant!

[Take care!]

82nd_Crest.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

That looks really nice. I should knock something like that together to go with my split rail fence.

Following for more homesteading posts.

Thank you! I think that would be nice. Let me see your fence if you decide to build one.

That made me think of building a small fence around my tiny garden space with logs.

Interesting woodworking! Will it be out of shapes after a few days?

No, the logs are seasoned. They should stay just as they are. The long lag bolts I used to join the logs should also hold them where they are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97