5 Gallon Bucket Nesting Box: Works GREAT

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

(Mo) Molasses.jpg

Here is Mo, short for Molasses

She loves this makeshift 5 gallon bucket nesting box. I thought she and the other two hens might not like it at first, but after a few days they settled in. One day Mo and Doris, the alpha hen, were sitting on eggs together. They were so cute. It was a tight fit, but they looked cozy.

As you can see here

they have been productive. I stuck some golf balls in there too. I started that when they were little. I don't know if they help in any way, but it was something I read about, to give the young ones encouragement.

The back of the bucket

developed a crack during cold weather. I started to remove it, and install another one. Then I had an idea... just stick another one on the outside of the old one. It worked very well. The two layers probably added some insulation too.

I installed the bucket

in the beginning, by cutting a hole the same size as the bucket, with a jig saw. Then pushed the bucket through from the outside. It fit tight. I then added a couple of screws through the rim and into the coop wall. I fastened a 1x4 along the inside edge to hold in the bedding.

She looks happy!

and proud of her eggs.

White line.jpg

Chicken vector Badge Right.png

Later, Cy

P.S. You ever have trouble separating 5 Gal buckets? They stick together so tight! It is enough to throw your back out, pull your fingernails off, and lead you to drink. When I stuck the second bucket on the outside because of the crack, it just stuck on by itself. I did not have to fasten it, and it has never came off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16