You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Florida Lifts Ban on Front-Yard Vegetable Farming!

in #homesteading4 years ago

Way to go Florida and the brave individuals that saccrificed so much to bring attention to this issue. I tried to fight the system in Des Moines, Iowa with my own urban farm and I lost big.
We were given notices, warnings, and then fine after fine. I fought them in court multiple times and even though I was able to show many ways their laws were misguided and detrimental. After a year of very little progress they decided make an example out of my families urban farm. We had already gave up battling the city and were in the process of moving to 80 acres in southern Iowa. 2 days into our move they labeled our farm abandoned and came in with a skid loader. They destroyed our front yard garden and everything that was in it. They drove the skidloader over every fruit tree it could handle in our backyard orchard. They even threw away over 100 potted plants and trees that were up on our 2nd story deck. It brings me great anger and sorrow even telling the story. Progress isn't easy in our society of excessive laws. Des Moines has laws against compost piles, edible weeds, standing water, and even insects. Basically in Des Moines nature is banned, which is the most ridiculous concept I've ever heard. Keep up the good fight everyone and back up those who the government goes after. Saving the world is worth it!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87