Learning the Art of Keeping Bees -- Video Three

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)


Here is a short video of one bee colony cleaning the outside of their hive.

Honeybees are very clean insects and work at keeping their home clean just like you and I would. As you watch this video, you will see many of the worker bees walking around--seemingly "sniffing" and "searching" the area. They are in cleaning mode and search for microscopic pieces of wax, bee parts, sugar crystals or anything else that may have found its way into (or in this case on the doorstep) of their home.

The bees pick up the small bits and pieces of debris and remove them from the hive. In the winter, if it is too cold for the bees to leave their hive, they will stack up the trash by the door and take it out when it is warm enough. Sounds almost human to me.

*If you watch carefully, you will see other worker bees coming into the hive with full pollen baskets on their legs

PandaStripe.jpg

Here is my beekeeping book on Amazon: The Beekeeper's Guide: Fun and Simple Steps to Apiary Success and Self Sufficiency

© 2013, Stone Golem Publishing, All rights reserved--no part of this may be used without express written consent.

**All pictures and video come from my phone--


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I understand that they are African bees hehe

Definitely zoomed in. That would be cool if they were huge, think how much honey I would get.

Yeah and dont know what they would eat, a chicken for a time

I should have married a Bee, maybe I will, the last 2 wives where useless at tidying up. Is James OK?

Hahahah, that is really good. I think my wife wishes she married a bee. I do manage to wash the dishes every night, but other than that I'm a bit crap around the house.

I'm glad you asked about James. I've been wrestling big time with two alternate endings for the story. I think I have it all figured out now--the danger of writing on the fly is sometimes you write yourself into a bit of a corner--so he should start making his appearance again early next week. Sorry about the delay on "The Hunt".

I watched a program last night on TV, about an author being murdered, it was just fiction, but he always wrote the end to his stories first, his famous quote was, a "A great story always starts with a good ending."

Yeah, I need to do that. One of my favorite (maybe top twenty or so) authors wrote a 15 book series called The Wheel of Time. His name was Robert Jordan. Then, three books before finishing the series, he died. They brought in another author to finish the series, and he did a reasonably good job, but it just wasn't quite the same. I hope I don't die this weekend before I can post the rest of The Hunt. ;)

Also--not sure if you saw on steemit.chat, our project will be delayed by either a day or a week. Sorry about that, work pressures and all.

Great one @bigpanda.

 Resteemed!

That is very kind of you--thanks!

This is so so so cool! bees are very interesting on how they work together as a team. Did you use a beekeeping suit when videoing this?

I think it is neat they work together as well--it fascinates me they are so coordinated in their efforts. I did not use a beekeeping suit when shooting this video. Unless I'm opening the hive, I never wear a suit near the hives--the bees are extremely docile and unless you make loud sounds or move too fast, they just leave you alone.

Oh I see, you're a very brave person. There was this time that I was bitten by a bee coz whistling. OMG it really hurts. I am very excited on your upcoming beekeeping videos @bigpanda:)

I'm so sorry you were stung by a bee--that always puts a damper on your day. They can be startled, I wonder if you whistling scared the bee for some reason.

I think so and got annoyed for some reason. :(, maybe you can film the queen bee, is she hiding on her bee hive?

She definitely is in the middle somewhere. This spring, when it warms up, I will shoot some video of the inside of the hive. I don't want to do it yet, because the poor bees will get too cold. It's fun to find the queen, she walks around laying eggs all day--sometimes as many as 2000 each day.

phobia can give me if I get to find the queen.... :(

That's so cool. Yes, Spring would be the best idea. This interest me a lot:)

Now, this is new. Cleaning up their front yard. I did not know they were actually this clean!

This is actually amazing. From a new bee-kinda-carefully-fan point of view.

How could I not "Bee" happy with this.

@bigpanda You if that loves the bees, is interesting to learn of them. Thank you for sharing his experience with us. I wish him a happy weekend

Thanks for the post! I can't watch video now because of internet restriction on work :) I will watch a few hours later.

Darn internet restrictions. :) .. Hope you love the video when you get the chance to watch it.

I have watched, they are hard worker :) Thank you again.

Thats very interesting. They are very beautiful insects. Thank you for sharing :)

I think so as well. Thanks for stopping by today @hanen. Hope your coffee was delicious this morning.

Yes nothing better than a coffee :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56