Honeybees Collecting Water

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

WorkerOnFlower.jpg

Here is one of my favorite short videos I shot of a few of my honeybees seeking moisture.

Bees will find the closest available drinking water to collect for use in their hive. This can be a small pond, a creek, or even a bit of damp mud like you can see in this video.

The honeybee uses water for a few different reasons including for de-crystallizing honey, for drinking, and my favorite--to create a cooling system for their hive.


In the middle of the summer heat, they use water for evaporative cooling of their hive. They spread a thin layer of water across the sealed brood and then workers fan their wings to create air currents which evaporate the water and cool the hive.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

fun to watch. I like how their bodies pulse as they drink water. its like me drinking after playing soccer for a long time on a hot day.

hahahahah, yeah I think its cool to watch as well.

These are big, are they from your hive?

Yes, they are! At least from one of my hives. When I shot this, I had five hives in my yard and several more scattered through the neighborhood at my friends houses.

I hope your neighborhood don't complain about this

I'm learning quite a few fascinating facts about the life of the bee's,
never thought something so small could be so intelligent.

They are really quite amazing creatures.

I've always had a fear of bees- any variety! But it wasn't until I started REALLY gardening that my fear turned to respect.

Pollination and all the good things bees do for our survival.

I live near hundreds of apple orchards so we always have an influx of bees from June through October.

I learned quite a bit about bees in this post- thank you!

@bigpanda thanks for sharing this with us, the world of the bees is so fantastic. Have a wonderful day

Thanks for stopping by--I think their world is pretty fantastic also.

Extraordinary. Thank you for sharing your knowledge about honey bee cultivation @bigpanda.

I'm glad you liked it.

It looks like a documentary! Thanks for the great video. I would like to mention about Einstein's promise :)
"If the Bee Disappeared Off the Face of the Earth, Man Would Only Have Four Years Left To Live"

Such a wonderful quote--I appreciate the kind words. Now if I only had two hours of good video I could make a documentary.

Very good post, beautiful. I already follow you and I invite you to go through my blog maybe something you like and you can support me with your vote.

Thanks! I really appreciate that.

Amazing video,thanks for sharing @bigpanda

Thanks, I appreciate your kind words.

Awesome video, @bigpanda😊i love bees

I'm so glad, I love the bees as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44