Potato Harvest From Two Hugelkulter 6 foot Mounds

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_3092.JPGPotato Harvest Curing In The Basement

This was combined with the potatoes I pulled out from the larger hugelkulter. Overall I would say the idea of planting potatoes in the hugel mounds worked excellently.. I don't know if I would have grown more or less if I had not used the hugel method, since I haven't ever done this before.

I thoroughly enjoyed pulling them all out of the ground. It wasn't very difficult once I found a rhythm. I had to heavily weed prior to pulling, and I think I will try hard to prevent weeds in the future, and give a chance for a larger yield. I wanted to pull these potatoes so I could plant some for a fall harvest. I am going to use more store bought potatoes, but these are baby potatoes.. I don't know if harvested prior to full size or this is full size.. because I would not mind trying something new, and perhaps a smaller potato wouldn't take as long to grow with the frost date approaching for here in Southeast PA hardiness zone 6b.

IMG_3086.JPG

IMG_3088.JPG

IMG_3087.JPG

IMG_3090.JPG

IMG_3091.JPG Fall Green peas growing steadily

Cool cool nights aid in the growth of these puppies. Still having some extreme heat each day in the full Sun though, and Monday and Tuesday are predicted to be a doozy of a heat wave. These were started from the peas from my last generation I started in the spring. Soon they will take off like lightning to begin producing some more fresh peas for the fam!

They really live up to the saying, "homegrown tastes so much sweeter", that times a million.

EVAP Logo solo version 1 copyright.png

Sort:  

I would love a description of your root cellar to see what kind of conditions work best. I don't think I can keep them where I have them for too long.

Great description for the mind to paint the picture.

Sand in a wood box huh.. to prevent air contact and such and perhaps desiccate it a bit. Need to invest!

An impressive, well-earned yield. Well done!

Thank you. The whole time I was pulling them out with a smile and saying to myself, you reap what you sow.

Which drives me to do more.

A really good haul for your your first try. I agree there is nothing better than fresh from your own garden.

Thank you Eric. I am certainly excited for the second round of green peas. Got to get a pep in my step to get some more potatoes in the ground too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61744.65
ETH 2678.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59