Irrigation For The Farm, Saving Time and Energy! - April 21st 2018

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_1454.jpg

Went out and got a few needed things to help with watering this coming summer. Would become quite the burden later on in time if I didn't set this up now. I can always move the hoses to the side when I amend the soil mounds in the future and then when I put the mound back together can bury the hose a little bit.

Even though I had bought two hoses today, I had to pull some hoses out from the storage shed that I actually did not know existed. Two nice irrigation hoses that I added to the end of one that I bought today to line the mounds with as seen in the photos above and below. Those hoses out of storage were a bit kinked at first from being curled so long, so with time and usage I expect it to loosen.

All the rocks used to pin the hoses down were dug up from the row I amended earlier, the far right row.

Felt kind of lucky the extra hoses were there, from when my Mother used to garden I assume, but they were there when I needed an extra hose. The distance to the spigot is about 150 yards and can become burdensome to haul that much water by foot to water growing plants. Step by step I am making the progress I need to see results this Spring and Summer!

I pray for Susan and her health.

IMG_1459.jpg

IMG_1455.jpg

IMG_1456.jpg

IMG_1458.jpg

EVAP Logo solo version 1 copyright.png

Sort:  

Ya know, it is awesome to see someone else besides me that grows in a raised/hilled bed. My dad started doing it back when I was about 5 or 6 years old. I stuck with it as I grew up, and it's the best method I have ever used. It's a heck of a lot of work, but it's worth it. Did you know that you can actually grow 4 times the amount of plants in the beds vs. what you would grow in "flat" land? Combined with companion planting, the results have always surprised me. Keep up the fine effort, yer on a great path!

An excellent comment, thank you!

I need to do a bit more research as to what I could companion on these mounds!

I just posted a blip about our raised beds here on our farm. You inspired me to do a write-up on it.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.27
Server time: 00:07:37
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1226.68/1600.00
Total Photos: 184
Total comments: 42
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95