Homemade Planter Box Built From Recycled Pallet Wood - June 5th 2018

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2513.jpg

With the remaining bits of wood from the pallets used to make the table in these photos, I crafted a little 10-12 inch trough to plant some corn in! I probably placed way too many seeds in the dirt but I don't expect all those kernels to sprout. But I could be mistaken. Regardless, I will give it a try.

Moments after planting the seeds the evening rain swept in and prepared the seeds and dirt for germination!

IMG_2514.jpg

IMG_2518.jpg
My first home grown strawberry

A bit small, but packed full of flavor. With a little upkeep, next years bounty will be twice as many and larger.

IMG_2515.jpg
Store bought pepper saved seeds germinating in abundance

We ate the pepper and saved the seed, I let the seed core dry out by the window in the kitchen and once I picked them all off the core for bagging, I decided I wanted to plant some, since I didn't have too much success yet with peppers.

Sure enough, a lot of those seeds were viable..

EVAP Logo solo version 1 copyright.png

Sort:  

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post has been featured in my FRIDAY DIY DAY- CURATION - EDITION 14 - It's ALL About Wood Today post! All proceeds and earnings are divided among the three featured authors!

Thank you very much @goldendawne for your wonderful recognition.

Always very appreciated!

I found your post from @goldendawne did a blog with you in it i gave both you and her blog 💯 upvote its such a great idea and a way to up cycle things.

wow nice i love fruit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58581.90
ETH 2278.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51