You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keeping off-grid laying hens at -40C/-40F

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Do you have to use a specific wattage etc of lightbulb? I really want to get chickens in the future, but in the UK, we don't see the sun very often lol It isn't extremely cold, but once autumn arrives, chickens stop laying as much apparently due to the lack of sunlight. Trying to get my research together before I twist my hubby's arm again to allow me to keep chickens in the garden, practicing for the real homestead life hopefully not too far around the corner! :D
Edit...I have seen a chicken charity that re-homes ex-battery hens, so I like the idea of saving some and giving them a longer chance at an egg laying free range life before the freezer :)

Sort:  

We have an energy efficient 40W equivalent in the barn. So no, you don't need a bunch of 100W bulbs. Just enough to give them light would suffice. We never had any issues with not enough light using a 40W. I'm toying with the idea of getting a LED grow light to see if that makes any difference. If they respond better to a more full spectrum light. But I'm not in any rush to change the light.

Brilliant, thank you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60997.20
ETH 2384.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56