Benefits of Bone BrothsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Bone Broth

After helping @shalomacres, @randomstuff, @mericanhomestead and @papa-pepper butcher another cow we ended up coming home with a couple of bones for broth. Bone broth has been used forever not only for flavor in foods, but also for it's medical properties. The list is long, but here is a few below.


Good for the Gut

Studies show that gelatin is beneficial for helping with the growth of probiotics (good bacteria) in the gut, and supporting healthy inflammation levels in the digestive tract.

Maintains Healthy Skin

Collagen helps form elastin and other compounds within skin that are responsible for maintaining skin’s youthful tone, texture and appearance.

Aids the Metabolism and Promotes Anabolism

Bone broth is a great way to obtain more glutathione, which plays important roles in antioxidant defense, regulation of cellular events,nutrient metabolism.

Supports Immune System Function

One of the most remarkable things about bone broth is its gut-supportive benefits, which as described above actually have a holistic effect on the body and support healthy immune system function.

Protects Joints

Bone broth is one of best sources of natural collagen. As we get older, our joints naturally experience wear and tear, and we become less flexible. Collagen helps to correct that problem.

Boosts Detoxification

Today in the Western world, the average person is exposed to an array of environmental pesticides toxins, artificial ingredients and chemicals of all sorts. While the human body can detoxify itself from heavy metals and other toxic exposures, it often has a hard time keeping up when flooded with the massive amount of chemicals we consume through the food we eat and products we use daily.. Bone broth is considered a powerful detoxification agent since it helps the digestive system expel waste and promotes the liver’s ability to remove toxins it also improves the body’s use of antioxidants, and helps maintain tissue integrity, and improves the body’s use of antioxidants.

Today we are making bone broth as the base for our delicious vegetable beef soup.( I thought I made a post on the vegetable soup recipe already , but I cant find it so I will post one soon.) Not only will we enjoy the broth in the soup, but I will also keep some out for drinking.

The hardest part about this recipe is getting the bones probably. Your local butcher should be able to provide you all the bones you need. Interesting side note while talking with
@papa-pepper I learned that you can actually boil down beef/bovine bones up to10 times for broth. Meaning you can make 10 batches of bone broth from the same bones. You can literally use them until they dissolve.


IMG_1266.jpg

How-To.

Ok pay close attention to this part. Get a big pot, put bones in pot,fill with water and boil. You did it!
IMG_1271.jpg


We also added salt, pepper, garlic, carrots and onion for extra flavor, but that's about it. The longer it boils the better it is.After boiling down to half I added more water and boiled down once again. It turned out Delicious and Healthy!


Check out and join the Steemit Homesteaders Community.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com


courtesy of @gavinthegreat

IMG_1272.jpg

Sort:  

Great post. I do this all the time. My gang loves it.

We have done chicken several times but this was our first time to do beef. It was very tasty.

Thanks for the reminder! Soooooo good for you!

Your welcome!

When I was young we had uncles with farms and git bones and meat and my mum made bone broth often used to swear by it for so many things

Haven’t had it for years now

No better time to make some. Especially in this weather.

Thats true perhaps this weekend i will get organized and do that :)

Also, you can add a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar and it will help draw out the minerals from the bones.
Some people also like to add a nutritional brewers yeast to their broth. Braggs brand has some and it only takes a tsp- it’s so healthy.

@jeejee

Nice to know
Thank you.

You’re welcome
@jeejee

I CAN MAKE TEN BATCHES WITH BEEF BONES?!?!?

my weekend plans have been decided just now, and my life has been changed!

Have a wonderful weekend hehe!

i will be sure to document whatever i end up doing!

:D

Absolutely! Post it on Monday of course

This is one thing i have never made that I have wanted to try one day.
My mom and grandma used to make bone broth, vegetable stock and even tallow.

I didn't know you could get 10x worth from one bone though. Kind of cool info!

Yup, true story.

Thats what the @papa-pepper was saying unless I misunderstood him.

You understood correctly.

Yum...bone broth is always a good choice!

Its been nice on this cold day.

Bone broth is amazing. My grandmother and my mother made bone broth all the time. I don't recall being in the kitchen when there wasn't a pot on. Then when I got married I carried on the tradition. Now my children are doing the same and we are all healthy. We chalk it up to the bone broth. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.

That’s awesome passing the tradition of health down the line like it’s suppose to be 👍🏻.

Now that I have an Instant Pot, I'm going to experiment with making some bone broth of my own. The only other time I tried to make it, I totally failed...probably because I didn't have a guide like this to follow!

~ Kevin

Well I hope you are successful the next time you make it❗️ Thank you

I've made bone broth in my crockpot a few times. Nice and gelatinous! I never have put any seasoning or veg into it, I may need to try that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37