Kokedama Update

in #homesteading6 years ago

It's been a couple of weeks since we started this project. A couple of weeks! I had visions of the thing being all done in a matter of days but sadly it didn't roll that way.

Sometime during the move we lost the varnish tin. I was sure I knew where it was, but it wasn't there so last weekend we finally bought a new tin and got to work on the stick we'll be hanging the kokedamas from

20180423_093348.jpg

Putting several coats on this was important, not only will it waterproof the stick and give it a nice red tint, I'm hoping it will also bind the cracks and keep the stick together. If by the time the lacquer coat is done and it's still looking like it will snap, I'll have to resin it back together.

If I'm doing the resin, I'll be adding glow in the dark pigments.

Care and Maintenance

20180423_105742.png

I've been a little slack with the indoor plants. I really thought they'd be easier to look after being in the bathroom and everything but I've neglected them.

If you look at the violet (pic on the left hand side) it looks almost dead. However the fern has come back and check out the colours on that baby! This plant is showing me that its not just the flowers that bring in colour.

The orchid, well... It will be like that for a while. Apparently they take years to flower. I almost got another one but remembered this is no instant gratification plant.

Even the air plants were struggling.

20180423_104639.jpg

These guys need to be soaked in water every week in Summer and every second week in colder months. This is the first time I've soaked them since I got them.

I think I may have over estimated how moist the bathroom gets or maybe it's the weather and when Winter kicks in it'll all work out how I imagined. I'm hoping that's the case.

In other news

We're getting ready to extend the garden.

There's so many things that need to have it's own space in the garden. Like the tray of sage that needs to go in ground so it can grow and I can harvest sage sticks. Then there's all those capsicum seedlings and the seeds I planted last weekend... that I still need to blog about.

It will have to wait another day.

It's Anzac Day today

Lest we forget.

Sort:  

I love those indoor plants you have!! How have you wrapped them? Is that hessian and string around the soil? It looks great and does it keep the moisture in? :)

your kokedamas are so cute! i don't know how to make them, quite jealous. those surely make a good indoor plants 😍❤️👍

Interesting read and thanks for the update!

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

There's so many things that need to have it's own space in the garden.
It should be its own instead of it's own.

I love using pieces of natural, earthy, decoration - like the stick.

I wonder if bathrooms today are too well ventilated? The moisture just gets sucked away. I remember when it was the norm to have a Maidenhair fern in every bathroom as they did so well from the steam.

That middle plant reminds me of a Coleus.

Looking forward to seeing the whole arrangement up in your bathroom. :)

Aaawww momi! these are looking nice. After coming back from vacation all my tomatoes are dead. I am left with eggplant, peppers and okras though. Will germinate some seeds and start over now that we are slowly getting back on pace There was just plenty to work on upon coming back from vacation.

@dandalion was scratched by a stray cat while we were in Davao BTW. She's okay, we got her third shot just now. That was quite a task in itself. We had to drive around Bulacan to find a hospital that uses the same brand as the shots given to her in a Davao hospital.

It'll be good to get caught up this week. We both miss you.

You sound like me - way too many projects and they all take way longer than I think...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43