Black Thumb Chronicles : Autumn 2019

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

PSX_20190417_110521.jpg

After a long long hiatus, I decided to revive the Black Thumb Chronicles. It was a title I decided on last year when I started my gardening journey. Back then I knew nothing about gardening, which isn't that much different now, but a year on I have a bit of experience under my belt and while my thumb has improved, I still consider myself a beginner so I figured the title still fits.

PicsArt_07-22-09.43.44.png

It's been ages since we've worked on the garden. Between what seemed like two months straight of rain and pure laziness we ended up with thigh high grass that Hubby laboured over a few weeks ago.

Before....

PSX_20190416_182043.jpg

After....

PSX_20190416_182058.jpg

It's been great having the yard back but with months of neglect it was looking a bit "how ya going".

For example:
The Apollo tomatoes went wild and needed a huge trim, cut, hack ~ whatever you wanna call it.

20190416_182720.jpg

I wish I could say that was it but no. There's actually much more of that tomato plant and that was part of my mission today.

Me yesterday

In the spirit of teamwork, my @actifit step count and trying to do as much as I can while I can, I decided to tackle the garden.

IMG_20190416_184128.jpg

Honestly, there's so much to do I didn't know where to start first but figured I better move the cosmos.

Here the before and after relocation shot.

IMG_20190416_184955.jpg

Here they are at the new spot by the fence.

20190416_133217.jpg

I had to create a makeshift wall so I can plant the cosmos in and add more soil. It'll be great to eventually get more rocks that match the existing ones to create the wall, but for now the bricks will do. You may notice they're also holding the cosmos up and in place.

Luckily these cosmos don't need much soil to grow wild. As it was, it was in shallow ground which made it easy to pull out, so I'm hoping they do well in their new spot.

And now that the cosmos are out of the way the ranunculus got their spot back.

PSX_20190416_191229.jpg

The Berries

We planted a couple of raspberry plants ages ago and they too have grown wild. Wild as in it multiplied and grew taller. Unfortunately the birds seemed to enjoy them and kept hacking away at the top of it so it needed a trim.

The strawberries also needed a tidy up and really the whole section needed weeding so all that got done today as well.

20190416_152126.jpg

The Lilies

The lilies also needed a lot of weeding.

20190416_152141.jpg

And then back to the tomatoes

As you can see it's a mess.

PSX_20190416_191532.jpg

I had to untangle everything from everything which involved pulling the stakes out (not that they did much in the end), then I had to cut the fabric rope, then I cut the dead branches and of course cut not dead ones just to get the job done.

After a while the best I could do was drape what was left over the retaining wall fence.

If you zoom in you can see plenty of huge green tomatoes still hanging on the vines.

PSX_20190416_192650.jpg

After all that work this is what I had to show for it..

20190416_182936.jpg

😭😂😭😂

It's a pretty sad harvest, though I was very pleased to find the strawberries ~ which were delicious btw.

The green tomatoes... Eh.. I have a bowl of green tomatoes inside the house from when the mowing was done and they're still green. I'm keen for some red tomatoes to go with my vegemite sandwiches ~ but I reckon I'll run out of vegemite before the tomatoes turn colour.

If you have a tip on hurrying up the green to red process help a sister out and comment below!

PicsArt_07-23-09.48.38.png

Sort:  

You're doing well! To get tomatoes to ripen faster, put banana peels or dandelion leaves under them
That gives them a boost of potassium as they rot down. They also release ethylene gas which speeds the ripening process

Thank you!

Ohh that's very clever! I'll give that a go! Ty!

Posted using Partiko Android

Put them in the sun (or in a plastic bag in the sun...well plastic bag works for bananas XD). Pretty sure tomatoes need sun to change colour (could be remembering wrong). Don't know about over there but here tomatoes thrive on neglect XD For a while our backyard was taken over by tomato plants from when seeds had been scattered about by chickens which are now no longer there to eat them as they're coming up, but the crops are done now and all the plants are dead.

Aside from the thigh high grass (we don't have grass anymore, chickens ate it all XD) your before shots still look neater than my yard XP

I've actually had a bowl by the window in the sun for a while and the biggest one is finally starting to change colour 🙌. I was considering the paper bag with a banana trick I saw on Pinterest the other day, still might try it.

Oooohhh even more reason to have chooks! Btw do you have ducks as well? I heard duck eggs are bigger and stronger and is creamier than chook eggs. And ducks wont destroy everything like the chooks do.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.760 which ranks you at #1556 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 21 places in the last three days (old rank 1535).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 161 contributions, your post is ranked at #21.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63740.26
ETH 2618.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79