You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Re-roofing our Gambrel Roof Barn

in #homesteading7 years ago

Great Job. I am in the phase of building my new home. Due to the lack of total budgeted amount I decided to do some work by myself. My roofing is flat and the real dilemma I have now is how to insulate . I need to work out both - hydroisolation and thermoisolation. When I'll decide and start the roofing, maybe I'll document it as well and post here a steemit.
What you did, is a real heroism to handle this without contractors. I hope I can do it too :)

Good Luck

Sort:  

Thanks for the kind words! We had a flat roof on our garage at the last place we owned. I didn't install it, but it was very well done with no water issues. They used rubber roofing like this: http://bit.ly/2xY4Zbe and seam kits: http://bit.ly/2xjojT9 The downside is that it is black and gets pretty hot on a sunny day, that was never a problem for us, but I suppose it could be in warmer climates.

As far as insulation, we just re-did our house roof last month and had it sprayfoamed for about 89 cents a sqft/1" thick. Not sure if that is in your budget, but it is by far the most efficient type of insulation I have found. We did about 4" of sprayfoam and now I am following up with some fiberglass insulation for a little additional insulation and sound dampening.

Good luck on the house project!!

Thanks for your advise. I really appreciate this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64130.23
ETH 3169.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47