Wild Blackberries! We Have Some On Our Property.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

We were walking on the property the other day and we came across several wild blackberry bushes. This is great as I had one planted in the garden this year and it did nothing. So we found this to be a wonderful surprise. I might try to transplant a few of them in another area.

We took the kids for a walk with us today and had them help us pick some blackberries for them to eat as a snack. They love berries of any kind and we thought this would be good for them to know where the berries they eat come from and sometimes the pain of picking them. Yes, these are wild and have thorns on the bushes.

GEDC0108.jpg

They are really small right now but there is a lot of berries on them. They are not large berries, by no means, but they had fun running around picking them and sometimes getting poked by a thorn or two.

GEDC0099.jpg

I think I will dig some of these up and transplant them to a different location on the homestead. When we get started cleaning up some of them will be in the way and I think that amending the soil someplace and planting they will grow great and we can have lots of blackberries. I do not know where they can from they were just there this spring.

GEDC0110.jpg

We were out there about an hour or so and we got quite a few. Well, enough for the grandkids to enjoy before bedtime tonight if they make it that long. I bet before this post is typed and added to Steemit they will be gone. It is all good in a few days we will have to fight the bees and things and go get some more.

GEDC0119.jpg

This fall after all the berries are gone I will have to trim them back, so I can transplant these to another place on our little homestead. That way we can enjoy them next year too and have the joy of watching them grow and be able to have fresh berries next year.

Thanks for taking the time to read our blog. I hope you learn something from the things we share with you. I really hope some of the things we share you will try for yourself. Hope everyone has a great day/night, whatever it is in your neck of the woods. ALWAYS FORWARD!

I Took All The Photos In This Post!

Please Do Not Forget To Follow, Upvote And Resteem!


Please Help Support Our Veterans

Delegate To The "Humvee" Bot @shadow3scalpel



@steemitbloggers

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Lucky you, you have those in your property! I've never had blackberries freshly picked! :)

#steemitbloggers

I am really glad they are. Hope the ones I transplant this fall survive. They are delicious.

Wow! Blackberries require cold weather? Yum Yum! Lucky you! Aja! Hopefully they will survive.

That’s just so cool
And the berries look gorgeous
I bet they tasted just as good 😊

Yes, they were delicious! The bushes are full and are hopeful we will have a lot more here shortly.

Great find! We have wild berries all over our property too, it’s always so much fun. Looks like you are well ahead of us, my blackberries are just flowering now.

We have had lots of rain, it seems to have done them good.

Wow those berries are gorgeous! So plump and juicy!

Yes, they were, even as small as they were. Hope they will get bigger over the next couple of years.

That is one awesome find. Sounds like the kids had a heap of fun picking them and it's always nice when you can pick them yourself. I know my kids love it when I take them strawberry picking.

Good to see your berry plants are growing am sure they'll be wild on that field soon as they grow bigger and larger

That is the hope. Love to make some blackberry jam.

I have never tried fresh black berries as we do not have them here. I'm not sure if it would even grow in our tropical climate. Closest taste I got is a jam from abroad. It pleases me when I see people have stuff like this in their garden. It makes me jealous lol. Cheers!

We love to eat fresh berries. I want to get enough planted to be able to have some blackberry jam all through the year. These will be wild plants and will have the thorns so maybe the critters will stay out of them.

That sounds awesome sooner or later you would have a backyard full of them thriving. I'd love to see it once you have a lot of them planted and ripening. Get the toasted bread ready for the jam lol.

It would be awesome to have jam from those

I am hoping to get some made from these plants this year if the grandkids do not eat them all. LOL

The natural "volunteers" seem to always do better than the planted ones.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

Yes, I have noticed that! The ones I bought from the store just died and they were in some good soil. These are just growing in the real sandy soil we have and doing really well.

My wife tells me that they need acidic soil—same as blueberries. So we use a different mix for blackberries and blue berries than we use in our raised vegetable garden beds. The problem with our blackberries is that they had been in large pots for a couple of years and were not at all happy with being transplanted.

Now that you say that the soil here is very acidic as I had to lime the garden to cut it down so my other veggies would grow. I think that is why the ones I bought and planted died because of that. I did not realize that little aspect of berries. Now I know how to get them to grow. Thank You! Learn something new everyday!

The berries look really good, @basicstoliving. Just wondering if they need to grow in a certain climate?

My wife is from Michigan and they grow there along with many other berries and grapes. I would try to grow them and see what happens. Might get enough to make some blackberry wine, oops the secret is out! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81