Feeling Accomplished

in #homesteading6 years ago

Running a homestead/farm involves quite a bit of work. So does writing a blog. I've been struggling as of late to find a happy medium and also include time to write software for my clients who pay the majority of my bills. Today, one of the small tasks I managed to complete was to install some t-posts and trellis netting for the sugar snap peas.

IMG_0586.JPG

Click image to view full size.

I also managed to snap a photo. I snap a bunch of photos actually. First of all because I absolutely love photography, and I'm also so impressed with the quality images I can get with my iPhone X. Secondly because they allow me to look back in time and figure out around when I did certain things around the homestead.

Looking back I see that these peas emerged around January 22. That means I likely planted them sometime before icemageddon. I think I spent about $10 on a pound of seeds, and purchased the original 'Sugar Snap' heirloom variety. With a harvest window starting at 66 days, I'm hoping to start harvesting peas somewhere around the end of March.



Sort:  

I'm proud of you dad! Following your dream and working hard!

Thanks darling!

Hey Jeff!
That's so nice that you got something _accomplished, I know how hard it is juggling multiple things and sometimes feeling overwhelmed by what needs to be done... And then the feeling of just one thing going right can set you back on the path you are aiming for :)
This reminds me, I need to get some posts and trellising up for my raspberry patch!
Take care,
@amymya

I'm trying to be patient about getting things planted, because we aren't in the clear yet as far as long freezes. But hopefully in the next few weeks I'll have some lettuces and things going.

My lettuce is almost back to normal. We don’t normally get hard freezes. I’m hoping we’re done for the season. Not too worried about a light frost.

this looks so lush and pretty!

i have a tendency to just snap photos, too - especially since mine auto-save to a google album, and i can sort & rename & organize so easily.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69114.01
ETH 3773.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53