Compost Opportunity

in #homesteading6 years ago

My next door neighbor has around half an acre of oak trees in her front yard. She also has one of those pull behind yard sweepers for her riding mower. Yesterday she asked if I wanted a bunch of bagged leaves. Heck yeah!

IMG_0695.JPG

Click image to view full size.

Now, the big question is do I shred them and build a big compost bin, or do I just leave them in the bags stacked right where they are?

I know that leaf compost is the best. I also know that shredding the leaves helps them break down faster. I've also heard of people leaving them in the bags, so I may just do that and see how it goes. What would you do with a bunch of bagged leaves?


Sort:  

I would did a hole and bury some and use the rest as mulch. I love using natural mulch like leaves or grass. If i had woodchips I'd lay a layer of leaves and then a layer of woodchips over that! I like to imagine the moist microenvironment I create that lives under and feeds on the leaves.

Bury some? Never heard of that. Something to look into more . . .

Yeah I bury leaves sometimes. I also used to bury failed compost. And by failed i mean not enough brown material in it so it started to stink so I'd get in trouble.

Shred the leaves and make a compost bin. That's what I would do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98