How to Properly Sterilize Canning Jars

How to Properly Sterilize Canning Jars?

There are few methods to do this.
I'm guessing same of you know different ways how this can be done
While others probably are sterilizing jars in similar way
Personally, I use three of them
But I do have my favourite one....

IMG_3706.JPG

Regardless which method you're going to use, you have to

Start by making sure your jars aren't damage or cracked
same about lids - no rust or missing rubber

Wash your jars and lids!!
This can be done in the dishwasher or by hand

IMG_3545.JPG

Method number 1

Place clean jars and lids on the baking sheet (use two sheets if there is not enough room)
Now place them in the oven
Turn on the oven and set the temperature to 212°F or 100 °C
Keep them "baking" in the oven for the next 25 - 30 minutes
After this process they are ready for use :)

IMG_3547.JPG

IMG_3548.JPG

IMG_3549.JPG

Method number 2

This is my favourite method to sterilize jars (not the easiest)
Bring a large pot of water to boil
Place clean jars in the boiling water using the jar grabber
(be careful - you don't want to burn yourself)
Emerge them in the water along with the lids
Cover and continue "cooking" on medium heat for few minutes (7- 10)
Let the water cool and remove the jars and lids
Make sure they are completely dry before placing in any food

IMG_3698.JPG

IMG_3705.JPG

IMG_3709.JPG

IMG_3707.JPG

IMG_3712.JPG

IMG_3713.JPG

Method number 3

By pouring 1/3 cup alcohol into the jar
Screw on the lid
Shake it vigorously
Spill the remaining alcohol to the next jar - repeat

There are other method to do sterilize the jars for canning

But I didn't use them therefore I'm limiting this post to the one I've tested personally

IMG_3553.JPG

Happy canning!!

Educate yourself how to make homemade food jars :)


Unless otherwise mentioned, all the photographs are taken by me and the content published on this blog are the property of @awesome-seven. Please DO NOT copy the material or photos in full or in any part without my permission.

Sort:  

Good stuff, i'd never think to put them in the oven, thanks 4 sharing!

There are more different ways to do this but I'm sharing the one I've tested and I know it works!

Cool, keep up the great work! Best wishes from kenentertainment!

Nice post, canning jars are a great way of recycle.

Nice, personally I'd bake them and then cool. Seems to be the least messy of the choices you provided. Enjoyed and learned a thing or two! ;)

It is the least messy way to do it ;)
Glad you've learned something new!

Nice post. Thanks for giving a variety of options that you tested. I know its important for safety.

Your welcome!
Safety is number 1!

Great one !
Thanks for the tips dear @awesome-seven ! I like the method . Its easy method.
Thank yo so much for your effort my friend !!

This post has received a 11.77 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @awesome-seven.

nice tips! I use method two but i also use a pressure cooker to really ramp up the heat.. Its a bit like an Autoclave which is how laboratories sterilize glassware.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48