You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Revved Up Ragtag, Part 10 - Getting Organized, Plus A Contest!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Yup! The Jungle was threatening to take over. Something had to be done. I figure a greenhouse smack in the middle of it will force me to keep it beaten back.

My first preference would be to have a one or two course concrete block foundation wall, staked in place with rebar. The ends of the cattle panel will rest on the blocks and be fastened to the rebar somehow. That should provide either more headroom or maybe widen the footprint at tad for more sq footage. The details are a bit fuzzy as it's going to depend on my scrounging abilities for materials. That's part of the fun! It's like a perpetual scavenger hunt.

Oh, and wind is a definite consideration. The southernmost tip of Lake Michigan is about 6 or 7 miles straight north of me. I'll make sure everything is well anchored down.

I can barely wait to get started!

Sort:  

I love that you are scavenging for materials. If I had a truck I would be visiting the local landfill quite often. If someone told me 5 years ago that "garbage picking" was going to be a hobby, I would have slapped them silly. LOL

If someone told me 5 years ago that "garbage picking" was going to be a hobby, I would have slapped them silly.

I know, right!?! Evidently, those Depression Era stories grandpa used to tell must've soaked in more than I thought. It does feel good to give items a new purpose and rescue them from the trash. It's probably a good thing I don't have a truck. It'd be easy to go overboard...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12