My new old bee trap

in #homesteading5 years ago

Perhaps you read my note about the second start of my beekeeping. This week was a free moment and I continued this exercise.

1.jpg

Everything is blooming here now, a lot of bees are flying around, and although the swarming season has not yet arrived, I decided not to delay and prepare for it in advance.

IMG_20190501_074002.jpg

I disassembled the old hive and have not finished it yet - many boards have rotted, so I’ll tell you about it another time.

And today I boast of my bee trap. :) True, there is really nothing to brag about, I just restored a little of the old trap that a friend gave me.

It did not have a lid and one of the walls had rotted badly, so I had to replace it and attach the lid.

2.jpg

3.jpg

From another friend, I took the old frames with honeycombs, gathered everything in a pile, burned the inside of the trap to get rid of any infection, rubbed the bottom near the entrance with fragrant herbs.

4.jpg

A couple of years ago I set traps and I managed to catch one swarm, but the last time I didn't try to be zealous, I just put the box on the roof of the shed and that's it.

5.jpg

I hope the bees will appreciate my current efforts and will delight me with their coming :)

Sort:  

Best of luck to you. Our swarm season started about three weeks ago. I've caught two so far.

Posted using Partiko Android

My father caught a swarm last year in early May 2018. They flew directly into his empty equipment and became great honey producer last summer. Unfortunately it warmed up this January in our area and the bees started flying then disaster in February came with a freeze for the whole month and into March mid April all was still, the weird winter killed them. Being 91 y.o. he had his prodige bee keeper bring him 2 nucleus (4 frames of brude, a queen bee and some workers, the odd drone if the queen hasn't mated). The ancient ones face lit up and smile ear to ear so this we caught a different kind of break to start off the season. So good luck with your endeavors and stay tuned with us we my be able to produce some short bee keeping videos between health and tech difficulties before my father has to go keep bees in the next realm.
Thanks for reading, have a great week

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67202.29
ETH 2597.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66