Cooking Coturnix Quail: Packing Perfect Packs of Pickled Eggs! (Spicy Cajun Edition!)

We had a really strong cold snap recently here in the Ozarks, and not a lot could be done outside. Even schools and jobs were calling snow days to keep folks home and safe. I was lucky enough for the ol' 9 to 5er to give me an extra day off this week which gave me some free time to finally do something with the eggs I collected over the last few weeks. One of my favorite ways to use them is a spicy cajun recipe that I made and tweaked over a few different batches (Complete recipe at the bottom of the page). After curing, they will last for up to 5 months in the refrigerator! If you are a fan of egg salad, this is an AMAZING addition. This is also a great "bar snack" to go along with beer or your favorite strong cocktail. However, before we get started, please, LISTEN CAREFULLY FOR YOUR OWN SAFETY!

I have not seen nor do I have any knowledge of a shelf stable recipe for pickled eggs. These MUST be kept cold and served chilled. If left at room temperature, pickled eggs are a perfect environment for a very bad bacteria called Botulism to reproduce. Botulism will make you very sick and has been known to kill. Food poisoning is no joke. Please allow your eggs to age in the fridge for 2-3 weeks before consuming, and keep in the fridge after use. Pickling eggs does preserve them for a longer use, but does not make them shelf stable. Now that's out of the way, lets get to cooking!

I gave my eggs a good wash and a hard boil for 10 minutes, stirring gently to keep the yolks centered. After boiling, I rinsed in them in cold water. We have rain catchment as our water source on the homestead, so it was ice cold and perfect for stopping the cooking process!
The next step in the process was to peel all the eggs. There are a couple of ways to do it. I decided to try something new, soaking the eggs in vinegar.

I placed about 100 eggs in the pot and covered with white vinegar. I used enough to cover the eggs by about one inch. I was told that you can leave them for anywhere from 3 to 12 hours. At 3 hours they are peelable, but at 12 hours they take on a strange property....

At first only a few bubbles formed...

Then after an hour, a foam build on the surface and THE SPOTS STARTED COMING OFF!!!

After a 3 hours, the eggs have almost completely turned white!

Here they are, 6 hours later...

Finally, after 12 hours, they have lost all of their color, and what is left of the shell is a papery membrane that comes off effortlessly. I took a taste and they didn't absorb all that much vinegar flavor! It was so cool to see the process and it was a neat way to peel eggs!

Once they are all peeled, its time to get them into jars!
First I got together the seasonings. Those Include liquid crab boil, garlic, dried onion, crushed red pepper, and salt.

I peeled the garlic and added it all to some apple cider vinegar and brought to a boil. I like to leave the garlic whole for an easy bonus treat when its all done. If you have never had pickled garlic before......oh man that's another article!!!
I put about 50 eggs in each quart sized jar and poured the hot mixture over the top, sealed tight and placed in the fridge.


I will keep them sealed for 2-3 weeks, turning 2-3 times a week. After they age/cure, they will keep in the fridge for up to 5 months! For your convenience, I have made a recipe card in picture format at the bottom of this post for your own collection! Please share and keep as you please. Thank you for coming by my little corner of the universe and it truly means the world to me if you upvote, resteem, comment and follow!
Recipeeggs.png

Sort:  

We love pickled eggs here! And quail eggs no less! How cool- a bite size snack!

They are one of my favorites! What I like best about quail eggs is that their yolk is larger compared to their white, so they have a eggier, almost creamier taste! They are perfect pickled! :)

I really appreciate your posts about Coturnix Quail, and I have been resteeming them. There are definitely some birds in my future. I am not quite ready yet, but I was wondering where might be the best place for me to purchase some breeding stock?

Thank you so much! I have been told you can order hatching eggs online but I have never done so myself. For chicks, you can check out Cackle Hatchery, or Kansas City Quail, both I believe ship nation wide. I looked locally for mine, where are you located?

Thanks, I will look into that. I am in Western Colorado, and I have not heard of anyone having them on the western slope.

Western Slope!?!? No Way! I lived in Grand Junction for 4 years in the early 2000s haha! I would bet there are poultry hatcheries somewhere in CO. But otherwise Cackle and Kansas City Quail do ship.

Small world. I am in New Castle, just west of Glenwood Springs, so an hour from Grand Junction. I hope to move to Paonia soon, which seems to be more favorable to small farmers and backyard growers. I look forward to more of your posts. Best...

I am now very hungry! And I have no quail eggs in sight. :-|

Haha... This post gets the #healthy-home seal of approval!

Keep up the good work!!!

I had some quail for awhile. They were lots of fun and their eggs were amazing hard boiled.

I love their eggs hard boiled, a sprinkle of salt and pepper and they are a perfect snack! Thanks for stopping by! :)

A timely post for us! Our quail have just started laying in earnest and the wife was just talking about finding a way to do this.

Fantastic to hear! I hope you enjoy! You can modify the red pepper to your own spice level if you like. The recipe i posted is for a spicy egg.

We'll have to make two batches! His and hers pickled eggs.

Never tried them picked, but you know I am now!

Congratulations @armadillocreek! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hey, I've been checking some of your stuff out lately. If you want, we could have a chat. If you know @freedompoint, you can get my actual phone number from them, otherwise look me up on steemit.chat.

I do know them! They live right down the road from me. We butted heads a while back over some really silly misunderstandings and I hope that we can extend the olive branch and move forward. Great guy and his wife and kids are great! If I cant get a hold of him would you be willing to email me your info? [email protected]

Got your number tonight from @freedompoint ill be in touch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78