You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Insects Have Ravaged The IBC Tank Garden

in #homesteading7 years ago

Those cabbage worms are the worst! I stopped growing kale and broccoli because of them. I found the best solution for me is to cover the crops with white garden fabric to prevent those white butterflies from laying their eggs. There is also an organic pesticide called BT that works, but you have to mix a fresh batch every time so it's not practical for just a few plants. Good luck!

Sort:  

Cabbage worms are mostly a late summer/fall problem for me here in Ontario, Canada. They don't usually eat lettuce, but rather any cruciferous plant. I like using polyester row covers. They can be reused for many years. I make hoop house like frame for them using heavy gauge fencing wire. That way the plants have some room to grow under the row cover.

That would make sense! We have never had this problem during the spring or summer. Usually by this time our garden is done. I have heard from a few people about row covers and that may be something I will try next time. I have also read that planting thyme around these plants will help.

Thanks for the ideas! I might try to cover them for next time, but for now I have been picking them off by hand and I think I have the problem in check for now. We will have to wait and see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 63977.42
ETH 2760.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65