Surplus Cucumbers? A Delicious Easy Recipe

IMG_1809.JPGRight now here in New Zealand we are having a record hot summer. 😎
Perfect for salads and healthy eating.
Since there's only me to feed and my garden is going kinda mad, I have a large surplus of Cucumbers. I don't want them to go to waste so I went looking for a recipe to preserve them for later in the year.

I came across a recipe on orgasmicchef.com and since one of my favourite things right now are Sandwich Stackers or Bread and Butter Cucumbers, I thought I'd give it a go. These are a sweet pickled cucumber.

Note:

I have modified it slightly by reducing the sugar and changing Coriander seeds for Celery seeds.

I find that most recipes don't taste much like the bought stuff but I was happy to discover this was really close and delicious with the added bonus of being pretty simple to do.

Things You Will Need

3 Cucumbers
1 Large Brown Onion
1 Tablespoon Salt

1 1/2 cups Apple Cider Vinegar
1 cup Sugar (I reduced to 3/4 cup)
2 teaspoons of Yellow Mustard Seeds
1 Teaspoon Coriander Seeds (I used Celery Seeds because my bought Jar had them in)
1/4 Teaspoon Turmeric

Start by slicing the cucumbers and chopping the onion finely. 🔪 Put in a large bowl then sprinkle over the salt and toss together.
IMG_1811.JPG
Cover the bowl with foil and leave to sit for 2 hours. This will soften the cucumbers.

After 2 hours you will notice a lot of liquid in the bowl. Rinse the mix through a colander with lots of water to wash off all the salt.

Put all the other ingredients in a large pan and slowly bring to the boil. Make sure the sugar had dissolved fully.
Place the cucumber mix in the pan, stir through the liquid and return to the boil. Once it comes to the boil its ready to put into your sterilised jars.
IMG_1814.JPG
Place cucumbers in each jar then pour over the liquid and seal..... Done!

Except for the 2 hour wait this took around 15 minutes to complete :)

I was excited to find this recipe as now I don't have to buy them from the store - just one more thing I can produce myself. 😁
IMG_1816 (2).JPG

Sort:  

I'll have to give this recipe a go in a few weeks, our cucumbers are still pretty small. Late planting and Taupo climate.

It really is simple and yummy with cheese and crackers or in a sandwich :) Let me know how you get on :)

Nothing better than home made food and lots of sun. Sending you some rain from England :)

Haha thanks we need it :)

We need some sunshine :)

I love cucumbers! I have to try this out!❤

I've done a couple of batches now and I still can't believe it's so easy . I recommend it. Yum!

I just happened across a recipe with cucumbers in that you might like - if you like olives as well. https://steemit.com/food/@rebeccaryan/recipe-strawberry-olive-salad

Yik olives - olives are to me like onions are to @bristowboy lol

haha, I don't like them either. @rebeccaryan is worth following anyway, she has some amazing recipes.

Awesome recipe! It's the middle of winter here so might be a while before I can try it though lol Last year a couple of them went to waste still on the vine. I could only eat so much! lol

I have to admit that I'm not the biggest fan of raw cucumber (it is kinda growing on me as I force myself to eat it though) but I really love them pickled like this :)
It annoys me when I've gone to the effort of growing them to then waste them - so this a good way for me :)

Dipping raw rounds in Cesar salad dressing is one of my favorite snacks lol My parents friends make some really good pickles, maybe I'll have to try a few recipes next year. I know my brother @qcfoodie would probably love to try it too, he's super into food. Now if only he'd get more into Steemit lol

He needs more encouragement :)

He gets mad at me when I bring it up.. "I'll do it if and when I feel like it" Oh well, can lead a horse to water eh? lol

hahaha I bet @kiwideb feels like that sometimes :)

Well done you, sell some to your friend :)

Thanks - I was really happy that they came out good lol :)

They look good. You should set up a stall and sell what you make :)

Ugh! Large brown onion. Nope. lol :)

Hey Mister - I put that in there especially for you lol

Yeah yeah lol.

And I have pickled cucumbers and salt. Now we have winter. We eat our canned cucumbers.Vegetables.JPG

Awesome - it's great to be able to enjoy summer veges in the winter :)

Excellent! Less reliance on Countdown or New World is a great thing. How many jars did you get from that amount?

3 large jars from 2 exceptionally large cucumbers :)

Tumeric is good for stuff!

I must eat more pickled cucumber then :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81