The Bomb Balm for Snuffly Sickies

in #homesteading7 years ago

My kids have a snot germ again...

How wonderful are the years of childhood, getting virus after virus all winter long...

It's all good. I am aware that catching many viruses during childhood is totally normal and actually strengthens the immune system. 1

But it still sucks to have an uncomfortable toddler with a constant stream of snot trailing from their nose.

Enter the Bomb Balm for Snuffly Sickies!

This balm is applied to the chest just like vicks vapour rub, only it's homemade and in my opinion a much better choice. It doesn't contain any ingredients that I'm uncomfortable with.

And it really seems to help my little one breathe better.

I use my trusted essential oil book 'The Complete Book of Essential Oils and Aromatherapy' by Valerie Ann Wormwood as a guide when developing my essential oil blends. I don't follow her recipes exactly, but rather pick and choose to suit my family's needs. Wormwood is a consultant clinical aromatherapist, has a docorate in complementary medicine, and is extensively involved in essential oil research and consulting on their use in clinical settings.

I have chosen the essential oils in this blend for their anti-infectious, antiviral, calmative, antispasmodic, and decongestant properties, as well as for their safety. I do not use eucalyptus essential oils topically for my children as I am unsure of whether or not it is safe for children under 10 years old, due to the compound 1,8 cineole, which can cause nervous system and breathing problems.

How to make your own Sniffle Salve...

Ingredients:

  • .5 cup shea butter
  • .5 cup olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp beeswax pellets
  • 1 Tbsp cocoa butter
  • 20 drops lavender essential oil
  • 15 drops fragonia essential oil
  • 5 drops spearmint essential oil
  • 5 drops balsam fir essential oil
  • 3 drops Roman chamomile essential oil
  • 2 drops cinnamon leaf essential oil

Method:

PicsArt_01-23-10.39.32.jpg
Begin by melting the shea, oil, wax and butter in a double boiler/ bowl over a pot.

PicsArt_01-23-10.47.12.jpg
Remove from heat, add your essential oils, then pour into jars to cool.

That's it! Use as often as you need on babies/ people 6 months and up!

Do you use essential oils in your home? Let me know your favorites in the comments below!

Much love,
amy.jpg

Sort:  

Perfection..wish I was a little one with a snuffle :)))

Well come on by, I'm sure we are contagious right now, haha <3

If I come up with a banner for the end of my page how do you put it on there. Do you grab it from somewhere else each time you do a blog

You just upload it like a picture from wherever you've saved it :)

Oh my goodness! Is there anything that you can’t do? You really need to open your own little shop!😉

Hehehe, thanks @cherylann <3

I had no idea this was even a thing.

I learned something today, which is great!
Thank you for the share.
I'll see you around Amy <3
Cheers!

I'm glad I could teach you something, haha!
Take care <3

Love it! Im diffusing eucalyptus and peppermint right now near my kids who are very congested after getting the flu... :(
Love the balm recipe! Ill have to try it once I get the oils. ♥

Sucks when our kids are sick! But just another part of life :)
Hope this helps them feel better when you make it :)

It is indeed...
Thanks! Im sure it will! :D

I have this in view, could try it later. Thanks for the experiment

I hope you do! You're welcome!

Now this is a wonderful idea!
I have everything listed, except the cinnamon oil.

I love working with the beeswax dots as I call them instead of the big block. They melt so much faster and evenly.

Yeah the dots are so easy to measure and melt, very helpful when you need to make something quickly!

This is great! Ive been trying to get more into home remedies. Thank you for sharing ^_^

You're welcome, I hope the recipe comes in handy!

it definitely will, between the 3 of them the bugs can come quite often

you bring light to alternative solution for the "Snot Germs"

Hahaha, thank you :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by amymya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I don't currently use them, but I'm try to learn about them. Steemit has been a great place to learn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56