You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Butter

in #homesteading6 years ago

My oh my that butter looks beautiful. I'm pretty much green with envy over here! I can't get my hands on unhomogenized milk, let alone raw. I could buy heavy cream but it always has additives and costs much more then buying butter.
Any who, beautiful post and product ♡

Sort:  

This is NOT cheaper than buying butter. I am making nutrition with raw cream butter. And it's far more expensive. I long ago learned cheap food is paid for steeply later in life.

Oh I didn't say what you're doing is cheaper, I said its cheaper for me to buy butter that's just cream and salt than for me to make butter from store bought pasturized additive filled cream, which is my only option if I want to make butter myself. I would pay 5x what I do if I could get my hands on raw milk and cream, I am very aware of the nutritional benefits :)
In Canada unless you have your own animal you are out of luck. Its illegal for raw milk to leave a farm and very heavily fined and controlled by the government.

Oh! I didn't think you'd said mine was cheaper, but I didn't realize raw milk/cream is not available in Canada. That's the pits it's so heavily controlled. :(

I know its so sad. I almost had a lead on a farmer willing to break the rules but it fell through.
Maybe one day the gov will lighten up and I'll get to make some beautiful butter like you.
Until then I will drool over posts like this!
Take care ♡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59117.70
ETH 2597.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43