Lemon Balm, Melissa Officinalis

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

"Well I was listening to the outgoing seasons
About climate change and some of the reasons
When the sky opened, like I been hopin'
And there came horses by the thousands
And there was thunder on their tongues, and lightning on their minds
And they were singing this old melody from some other time

They sang don't waste your hate
Rather gather and create
Be of service, be a sensible person
Use your words and don't be nervous
You can do this, you've got purpose
Find your medicine and use it" sings Nahko Bear in his song Manifesto.

I'm feeling my medicine, my purpose, is to speak more of the plants out my front door and all around me, asking to be recognized for the medicines that they are.

Today's herb is Lemon Balm, Melissa Officinalis.
DQmaMYHHwGYa5F2Fm29zZ1ywXWrAFV6kdUiKUpF6xwhomQr_1680x8400.jpeg

Ahhh lemon balm. Such a cheery bright green with a fresh lemony scent. Growing and spreading like mint, as it's part of the mint family, it is easy for one to mistake it for peppermint by sight. Upon smelling it you can instantly differentiate it from its look alikes.

I started growing lemon balm indoors last winter and planted it out into my garden late this spring. As a perrennial I will be blessed with new growth from the plants after the winter, year after year. Lemon balm should only be planted in an area you won't mind being taken over, as it's extremely vigorous and will spread. I've given mine lots of space and will welcome the abundant growth, for its uses are many!

20170927_091242.jpg

Lemon balm has been used for centuries as a remedy for anxiety and low mood due to stress. It is mildly sedative, and can be used in tea or as a tincture before bed to relax. Lemon balm is also a potent antiviral, and is particularily effective against the herpes virus.

Safe and gentle enough for children, lemon balm glycerite is like a tincture but made with food grade vegetable glycerine instead of alcohol. It tastes amazing, sweet and citrusy. My school aged son just started getting cold sores and we will be using this glycerite topically and orally to help ease his discomfort. I will share my recipe and method below.

20180104_105435.jpg

To make Lemon Balm Glycerite:
Combine two cups of fresh lemon balm leaves and a cup of glycerin in the blender, blend briefly just so the leaves are finely chopped, then set in a jar to steep for about two months. Strain and use the glycerite topically on cold sores or mixed into skin care products. Add some to cold or hot water for a delicious and potent medicinal drink.

1515007781215600633716.jpg

Lemon balm is high in antioxidants and anti-infammatory compounds, like citrol, and as such has even been studied for its role in killing cancer cells.

20180104_094907.jpg

Fresh lemon balm leaves can be added to smoothies or salads. I'm going to use the pulp strained from my glycerite in a smoothie today, I like to waste as little as possible. Lemon balm has traditionally been used as an elixer for long life, and is recommended for daily use.

20180104_103115.jpg

Lemon balm planted in pots or areas around the garden can repel many harmful garden pests while attracting bees and other beneficial insects with its nectar filled flowers. Citrus scents in general repel mosquitos and black flies, and lemon balm is no exception. As an organic gardener who doesn't like to slather up in chemicals to go work in the garden, I welcome plants like these around my home. On this cloudy morning with a storm impending, planting lemon balm seems like a great idea. Simply wet some seed starting soil in a growing container of choice, press a few seeds into the soil surface, and in a week or two you should see germination. A very forgiving plant, once growth is established it can tolerate infrequent watering, though it prefers regular watering like most plants.

I hope you enjoyed learning some of what Lemon Balm, Melissa Officinalis has to offer. Please consider sharing the post so that more people can learn of the powers of the medicinal plants all around us!

amy.jpg
banner by @soulturtle

Sort:  

oh THANK you for this beautiful post. We are on the same page! i just now posted a shout of praise to Mother Nature, the best way to start ANY day. I will be following along to learn more.

I'm happy you enjoyed the post! I very much agree :)

Lemon balm is one of the few plants that will grow in the dense shade of our old garden's quince and plum trees! Have to remember to make a photo, but it's a spot that does not get even an hour of direct sunlight a day, just filtered light through the canopy.

yes! i think this is one of the best parts about lemon balm. it's not picky at all and intercrops really well :)!

Yes, very forgiving, gotta love plants that are happy to just grow with little help!

@bobbydimitrov old plum trees are like my favourite thing, haha. Dried italian plums? Oh man, do I ever love them.

Oh! I did not know that term! Around here they are mostly known as "blue plums" or "Stanley plums" after the name of the widest spread variety! We're talking about those babies, right?

Oohhhhh mannnnnn that is the most beautiful pic I have ever seen. Yes those. Fav fruit ever.

Great info! Mmmmm lemon balm ❤ thank-you for sharing this with us today.

You are most welcome!

I use my lemon balm tincture to treat bug bites!! The mosquitos are bad around our farm and my son and step-daughter always get eaten! And they react really badly to the bites. A few dabs of lemon balm tincture on a bug bite and within half an hour I can't even see where the bite was!! Resteemed!

Awesome! We often use plantain for our bugbites, but if lemon balm works for you and you have it handy then great! I'll have to try that this summer :) thank you for the resteem!

looks super beautiful and lush- your lemon balm is sure happy. i was impressed that ours lasted quite far into the winter! it seemed to handle the frosts pretty well ;) .... i love lemon balm for it's calming effects, too. "rather gather and create!" YES!

It was very happy in the spot I chose for it, and yes it kept growing beautifully despite the cold! A truly remarkable plant :)

Nice article. Thank you very much!

You're welcome, and thank you!

What an excellent read my friend. I grow lemon balm in my summer gardens. I decided not to bring one of the plants indoors for the summer as my space for herbs is limited, now I am sorry I didn't. Thanks

I'm glad you enjoyed the read :)

We have so much lemon balm! I wanted to make tinctures with it last year but never got around to it. This will spark my motivation!

You won't be disappointed if you end up making a glycerite, so sweet and mellowing :) The seeds I planted just sprouted today! Soon I will have another bushy clump to plant in the spring :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97