Some Setbacks On Getting The Septic System In! Somethings Got To Go My Way Soon, I Hope!

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

We have been trying to get the septic system in for a few days now. We have had some delays with things like rain and the hole we dug falling in some, which had to do with the rain. It is funny how you work at something and you think it will be just fine and something happens and you are set back a little on a project. Let me show you what I mean!

We had everything dug out except for the line coming from the house. It was just scratched in so we could place the tank. We got up this morning and went out to get started and we had the rain push in the dirt and had it make the sides fall into the hole. There is about four feet we have to dig out again now in places. We got discouraged as we have another rain storm moving in tonight and tomorrow. So not going to dig it out to have it fall in on us again.

Instead today we had the time to get the line buried coming from the build site to the hole for the septic tank. We had thirty feet of 4-inch pipe to dig in and get it sloped to drain right. Remember we are doing this by hand and with no equipment and no transit. We used 8 foot 2x4's and a level to make sure it went downhill. Crap does not run uphill, so that took up all day to get the line in and test it by pouring water down the line to make sure it will drain right. It is not perfect as we had a little more drop than needed but it works. That got put in and covered before the rain moved in heavy on us today.

I do not think we will be able to do this again as I think it will take all we have to get this one done. I have 3 disks in my back and 3 in my neck messed up and spinal stenosis in my back and do not want surgery as I have a knee replacement done and have had 4 surgeries done on it and it is still not right. So no more surgeries for me unless it is absolutely necessary.

I have looked and it will cost 20 to 30 thousand to get a backhoe so we can get some stuff done here on the homestead. It will not just be for the septic tanks but also used for getting all the other stuff done here on our homestead. I am still trying to figure this out as I cannot afford to make a payment with the limited income I have coming in and still make our bills. I am just hoping to get lucky and we can figure out how to get one so we can get stuff done. I have had neighbors that have them tell me they will come to dig it for me but they are never around and I cannot seem to get on their timeline, no matter what we do. I hope it works out for us soon, that is all we can do at this point and try to move forward.

Here is what we got done today so we are a little further along on this job and a little closer to the finish line with this project. I have created a gofundme campaign, not really sure what to do at this point, to help try to get a backhoe or a tractor with a backhoe attachment and maybe some other attachments we could use, it then becomes a multi-use piece of equipment and not just for one purpose.

https://www.gofundme.com/helping-a-disabled-veteran-build-a-homestead&rcid=r01-154835805899-76424d7fb86d4f77&pc=ot_co_campmgmt_w

I think now it is time for bed as I am tired and hurting and I just want to rest. I hope everyone has a good night/day, whatever it is in your neck of the woods!

Please Do Not Forget To Follow, Upvote And Resteem


ambigity3 (255 x 278).jpg


Photo From Pinterest.Com


Please Help Support Our Veterans

Delegate To The "Humvee" Bot @shadow3scalpel

()

Join Us On Discord
https://discord.gg/wCsRAmn

Sort:  

Your septic system is quite good. You done good job.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ambiguity (Mike) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @ambiguity! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67