You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steps to Build a Hugelkultur Bed

in #homesteading5 years ago

I have 1 small hugelkultur bed where I live. I built it several years ago as a raised bed. I used it to grow onions for a couple of years, but last year I decided to plant 4 blueberry bushes in the bed, it seemed like a better use of the bed. I used pine bark mulch between the bushes to help acidify the soil more for the blueberry bushes, they prefer a more acedic soil, from what I've read about them.
Since I live right in town on a city lot, there's not a lot of space available for more hugul beds here, so the one is all that I built.

Sort:  

That sounds like a great small hugelkultur bed. If you ever want to build more you could try sunken versions. Just dig a trench and then bury the wood down in it and built up with wood and soil until you get a small raised bed. My new garden was done this way because I did not want to have super tall beds.

Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41