You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homestead Happiness is... eating a meal you have grown / reared yourself

in #homesteading7 years ago

I tend to not have a lot of variety in my choices of vegetables by choice. There's a lot of veggies that I don't care for, so I don't grow them. For instance, in the past, I've grown some really nice cabbage, but I don't eat it and I have a hard time giving it away, so I stopped growing it.
Anyway, I haven't had to buy green beans in 5 or 6 years. I'm still eating the beans I canned in 2015.
We had potatoes that were grown in the garden until about May this year.
I won't run out of canned tomatoes this year.
Last year was a bad year for me for carrots, I've been buying organic carrots all year. I buy canned organic sweet corn because I don't grow it.

Sort:  

That is very true. Only grow what you want to eat.

Sounds like you are doing well with many of the veg that you don't have to buy anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59067.30
ETH 2504.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44