You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Sigh of Relief - Honey Bees [Nature on the Farmstead #5]

in #homesteading7 years ago

I haven't been seeing many bees at all this year. We had a ton of them, probably not honey bees, when the plum trees were blooming, but when those blooms were done, everything disappeared except a few bumblebees that stayed around. Now that the white clover is blooming, I'm seeing more bees of all different kinds. We have several different sizes of bumblebees, mason bees, and some honeybees. It seems that none of them want to go inside my greenhouse and pollinate my tomato plants though. I have to do that myself.

Sort:  

Feels a little naughty doesn't it? Hahahaha.

Yes. bees have a hard time navigating into a greenhouse, would have to have a LOT of openness for them to be willing to go in there, I imagine.

I wonder what they were! I think this year is just a crazy year, I keep hearing the same thing from a lot of different people in different locations - that they haven't seen many.

I love how many bees there are. I would have never known until I did research into bees!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48