You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Apartment Homestead In The Sky

in #homesteading5 years ago

I have a couple of compost piles going out in the garden. I've been putting all my coffee grounds in the one, along with the paper filters, and putting the food scraps in the other. The one with the food scraps doesn't have any kind of a fence or retainer around it, so if I put the coffee grounds in there, the filters end up blowing around the garden when they dry up.

Sort:  

Oh, I would have never thought of that, having it all in a bucket. I don't use coffee filters because I make coffee in a French press, so my issue is that they're always so wet so I dry them out on the counter generally before putting them in plants or compost. Years before I tried this double-bucket system, I tried it in just one bucket and the constant wet grinds made it mold over pretty fast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64