You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: steemit index of permanent posts : homesteading [v1 - 29 Jun ‘17]

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this it's a great idea. I agree that the posting is so fleeting and then they get buried and I forget about what I wanted to look at and I can't find it anymore. And then there's the issue that many people just don't have a chance to see it the first time because they weren't at their computers for that time.

Sort:  

Yes this is for me one of the biggest weaknesses of the steemit setup. Creators are encouraged and enticed to spend time creating meaningful, well researched content but then that content is 'thrown away' so quickly.
And then after 7 days it almost turns to dust!

I fear for this system with the way it works and the ever growing numbers that it might become just like a Buzzfeed or Facebook. It will be all about the clickbait titles and eye candy thumbnails just to catch the eye and catch the upvote.

I agree. I bookmarked the below page and use it to stay up to date on homesteading topics.

https://steemit.com/created/homesteading

Yes I think we need some functionality almost like a blog site where you can begin to create categories favorites Etc

especially since I get the impression most of the buzz and interest on here is directed at cryptocurrencies and more generalized interests. Homesteaders, Preppers, Permaculture people and all kinds of eco sustainable people could come to Steemit and do just that. It just feels like the number of people on here is limited and many people who could be adding content on here instead of fb, instagram etc but aren't. I've reached out to the permies.com forum people, Curtis Stone, Ben Falk and Peter McCoy (of Radical Mycology) I think if some movers and shakers joined, they could bring their tribes and then things get fun and interesting! I somehow don't get the feeling that this will fade away like Google Wave though, I think once more people understand how it works, it'll be great.

Getting Curtis Stone on here would be really good.

I know right!? He says he will look into it but he is currently up to his neck in growing season in Kelowna, may be the perfect thing for winter though when he has time. I even wrote this: https://steemit.com/food/@ecoknowme/do-you-know-the-urban-farmer-how-curtis-stone-makes-usderiouusd-profit-farming-in-the-city to try to lure him over. We shall see.

Here's hoping.

One good thing is that Steemit posts are indexed by google. I have found a lot of great helpful content on steemit with google. But of course, you are right that posts are going by so fast. This concern is coming up in a lot of sectors on Steemit and I would imagine this would be a coming up in a future hardfork.

True, though it is kindof weird that you can't easily do that within Steemit. I try on here and get flustered, but then I try on Google and get amazed at how much is hidden out there. That could be another great service for data mining and renewing the good out there.

I think this issue is a must to be addressed in a hardfork asap.

This, and the inability to natively see mentions, just like the Replies or Comments section.

Agreed on that one too. I have no idea on the workings of steemit in terms of how new additions are proposed and then added to the system. But I will be interested to see how things develop over the coming months.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61227.60
ETH 3022.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88