Damn it’s going to be a long day : Running on 2 hours of sleep and sick.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

So this is how my day is going.
EBC602C5-0B1C-4C59-AB99-9A4F4B78B3D1.jpeg

I did an all nighter with the baby goose. Checking on it every hour. I think I got two hours of sleep.
But it is so cute! I helped it dry with a towel and heating pad, making a goose taco. I then helped it fluff with a tooth brush.
DF9941D6-094C-44F3-BC43-52A223DB40EC.jpeg

So I am drinking black tea with spearmint in my new unicorn cup. 2ED12C5B-4300-4D99-8084-6153808C3A95.jpeg

At 7am the baby ducks wanted attention, so I rousted the kids to help. That lasted about 20 mins and I ended up having all three in my lap and still had the baby goose drying.
I sent a kid out to get wood for the fireplace. The kid comes back in and says they heard a baby goat. Shit! This was not planed, she got out and went to the billy goat.
So I roust my husband(@alaskatactical) from bed to help at 8am. Sent a kid out with him to help.
They seen a white one and one that was still born. She normally looses one.
7751E744-5602-4C01-8405-CA9C26410475.jpeg
My husband threw some more sawdust down for her and the baby. Then heard another hidden under the nesting boxes. She had triplets again, third kidding.
But something was wrong with the baby. It couldn’t stand, my husband checked the legs but nothing was broken. But it couldn’t use its left hind leg, like it wasn’t working at all. So I brought in the baby.
I have heard of goats having tendon problems.
I washed most of the yuck off. Wrapped the left hind leg in a gauze, and formed a splint using a Sam Splint.
D667ABF3-8ABB-40A3-BA60-55CC11C6BAD5.jpeg
I ended up splinting both back legs so they where even. When it was just the one splinted the baby started to have trouble in a different way.
When both legs where splinted the goats hind end was balanced and it could actually stand!
We took the baby out side to see if it could feed from mama( Rosie ). She, the baby, made a good attempt at feeding.

I sent a kid to go get bacon and asked my sweet husband to make scrambled eggs with cheese and bacon.
EF9DD22D-40AC-43CF-A566-8D11C7D9BED7.jpeg
My husband is about to go check the baby again. The babies seem to be doing well. Rosie knocked the splinted baby to its front knees while cleaning it, but the baby figured out how to right it’s self! That’s awesome!

Then my husband is going to get me caffeine.💗

It’s going to be a long day.
But it could always be worse!

Life in Alaska

All photos and content are our own. Please do not use any part of this post without our expressed permission. Thanks for not being a dick

Sort:  

Nice to see a day of living in Alaska, well a hectic morning atleast!

Thats awesome about it being better with 2 splints, you should name it Forest!

Awww that’s a cute name idea, even for a girl. We are thinking of Lucky. We are not set on a name yet.

hihi :) Do you make cheese there at your place? I thought to get 2 goats as i have a rocky hillside with thin trees on it, and not much else to do with it, maybe try a forest garden.. but goats are cool! Had experience in keeping them in my childhood but we got rid of them because they kept jumping the fences and escaping haha

No we don’t make cheese. Our nanny goat was a gift, and my husband wanted our silvery white billy incase we wanted milk. We do on occasion drink fresh goats milk. Very yummy!
Just remember they eat more then you think. LOL
I had very few trees and they peeled them all, even with hay. Fresh is best. 😄

Sorry, you lost one kid. It never rains but pours on the homestead. The baby gossling looks good. Hope you are able to get rest soon and feel better.

Thanks, yeah it’s rough on the homestead. But there must have been a reason, be it an invisible illness or a birth defect. Rosie has always produced triplets too. That’s why I wasn’t to surprised at the triplets, but more of the crappy timing.
I am scared of losing the gosling, I lost so many in such a short time already.
I haven’t rested all day and I feel pretty rough. So tired.
Thanks for your kind wishes 💗💗

Are you saving these animals? Looks inspirational. I like eggs. I should visit Alaska for the northern lights. Love animals. I have gardens. Good work. Thanks for sharing.

No, I am not a rescue. I would become a rescue if I could. These are my animals I either hatched them or were born on your homestead, all but the adult goats.
The aurora is very beautiful.
I’m glad you enjoyed my hectic day, lol

Awesome. Did enjoy your hectic day hehe. Made me smile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3145.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53