Another day on the homestead in Alaska: 26 April 2018

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

We have had some messed up weather. Ducks and goose played out side, and hatching more eggs.

A3D3EE1D-4201-4131-91E1-5BA42F2634B7.jpeg
Isn’t my Silly Goose so cute! They where chowing down on all the roughage they could find!

Well it has been puking yucky weather on us for three days. Why did I use the work puking. Well it rains they the throws up on us in the form of hail. Them blows giant snow chunks of yuck the size of golf balls if not larger.
9B61DB73-6F98-47F8-A591-5C1808870CED.jpeg
We have had wind in places of the Valley reach 108 mph, in the past few days. It ripped the roof off some houses and tore down fences.

We had a small break in the weather and took the babies outside.
F51813A4-1ACA-4ACF-B43F-A89F669C7411.jpeg
We started out in the play pen, then opened it up. They followed me around the back yard and loved it! It was only a short play time, 30-45 mins. We were watching the clouds roll in, when they started to block the sun compleatly we went in. Ten minutes later it started to hail.

91DCB5D9-0800-4AE7-8D78-1C400B898EC8.jpeg
They played so hard it was nap time after words. LOL

We started another batch of eggs. My husband (@alaskatactical) wanted to try to hatch some turkey eggs.
570922AB-A2AD-4BB3-8069-62F3A9A44327.jpeg
We also set aside some huge peaking duck eggs for hatching. I hope this round of hatchlings and event goes smoother, instead of the chaos that happened in such a short amount of time.

6F080D71-907D-4566-B600-C7D5A6D79A5A.jpeg
Also trying to get my bonded turkey to hatch her own. But yet again someone ransacked her nest to took all six eggs. No shells where found.
I moved her nesting kennel up next to the house. I showed her and she has started to lay again, 2 eggs so far. It has been cold and she isn’t sitting constantly, so the viability of her eggs probably isn’t that great. But it’s a learning experience for her and I.

This is our life in Alaska

All photos and content are our own. Please do not use any part of this post without our expressed permission. Thanks for not being a dick

Sort:  

The weather can be a real pain sometimes. Hope all is good with you!

We are well, we have trees around us to break the wind some. The wind was mostly whipping off the glacier and funneling down the valley picking up speed that way. We did get some of the wind but not as much as others, we got the storm clouds and the yuck from it too.

Your goose is growing up! How cute are the little ducks sleeping! Hope you are ok after the storm. The weather must be getting warmer for you soon. warm regards,
Margot

Yes they are! They are a chunk! It’s like they are growing massively over night! I was looking at photos and it’s true! They hit a growth spurt! I may have to cut them back a bit so they don’t grow to quickly. If they do that they can have major problems.

I lost a duck last year to growing to fast, his name was uncle scrooge( duck tales cartoon ). He started to develop a neurological disorder, so I read up on what to do, I even gave him hydro therapy in the bath tub and in a kiddy pool. He just became so bad that he was depressed and physically giving up.
We eventually had to put him down because he just gave up and was slowly killing himself. So instead of a slow death we opted for a quicker one.

I don’t want that to happen to my goose 😔

There's so much to learn about how to look after animals! When you're looking at wild life you don't take time to think about what's gone on.

I'm glad to see your hatchlings doing so well. 108 mph winds sounds crazy, that's like when we get a tropical storm here. I hope your spring comes soon.

Thanks, yeah I am very glad I don’t live on that end of the valley for sure. They always have wind, 15-20mph is normal.
Yeah I am so done with the snow and mud, I am so over the colors white and brown.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65836.42
ETH 2694.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87