Our rabbits

in #homesteading6 years ago

Our Rabbits

20170510_201031.jpg

The second animal we started raising was rabbits. We started with a male and 2 female silver fox rabbits. A trio of rabbits can produce a lot of kits in a year. Our 2 females averaged 5-6 kits per litter and we had 3 litters each last year. That's over 30 rabbits in a year. We saved 3 females as breeders and my goal is 4 litters per rabbit this year so we should easily double that number.

20170111_102932.jpg

After 6 weeks, I start weaning the babies. They are moved into their own cage to finish growing. I have rabbit tractors that I use as grow out pens. We drag the tractor to a new spot each day so the rabbits can eat some grass and weeds. They have a wire bottoms to keep the rabbits from burrowing out and predators from digging in. I really like the tractors and plan to move all the rabbits in to them. I might make a post on how I built them later.

20170522_202708.jpg

Sort:  

Rabbit tractors are the way to go. Don't make the cage to small they need to run and jump to develop.
second thing rabbits get easily hot cover the tractor in summer with a tarp.

I really like the tractors. I love that they have more space to move around and get a variety of greens in their diet.
A section of the tractor is covered on the top and sides. This gives them a place to get out of the sun and rain.

Very nice setup. Do you use there waste as ferilizer in your garden?

Yeah we use the waste in the garden. It is great fertilizer. The hutches have a ramp under them for collecting the poop. The tractors just drop it on the ground and fertilize the grass.

That is great I was hoping that you were taking advantage of this great resource!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65560.09
ETH 3467.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68