Homestead Photography Challenge

in #homesteading7 years ago

I'm so glad @knowledge-seeker has created this #homesteadphotography challenge.

I use photography as a way to slow down, take a step back, look for the beauty that is already surrounding me and be present in the moment. I have a very bad tendency of racing around, a slave to my to-do list, a slave to productivity, even though it is 100% against my beliefs.

I believe in a simple life, a natural one, being present in the moment. My baby will never be 1 year, 10 months, and 3 days old again. Every day he changes - has a new favorite toy, or a new words, or invents a new game with us. I don't want to forget these moments.

When he was a baby and could barely see, his room was decorated in a woodland theme. There was a decal of a squirrel riding a turtle next to his changing table. Once his eyesight had developed enough that he could see it, he would point and laugh at that squirrel and turtle every time I changed his diaper. As the months went on, he moved onto laughing at something else and I honestly forgot about his first friends - the squirrel and turtle. Luckily, I found a video on my phone of him giggling and it all came back to me.

That's why photography has become so important to me. To live in the moment, appreciate the space that I'm in right now, and to remember the little things.

IMG_8149.JPG

This week's theme is landscape. I love this picture of Farmer Jack surveying his field. When the weather was warmer, we made a habit of walking through our back field once a day. He loved running up and down the hills, and I loved looking for the sign of deer and turkey and just simply being outside without an agenda.

It's the dead of winter here and the temp is in single digits. Next week, however, it should warm up again and we'll resume our daily walks.

Until then, happy homesteading!

Sort:  

Your photo is a real treasure! As an empty nester I'll get one of those "five years ago" reminders on facebook or find myself looking through photos and I just can't help but wish for those times back, if only for a moment. All of the moments (even the messy ones) are so precious.

I get there too...my baby's not even two yet and I still miss the baby-baby moments. Almost makes me want to have another....ALMOST

Great photo of Farmer Jack in his field! Every day is precious. And photos help us remember what is important from yesterday.

Wish I had a better camera!

Beautiful post. I feel you! I'm always go go go when I wish I was focusing on the moment and my children... It's so hard! But so important :)

You did an excellent job with this photo! I have enjoyed hearing the story behind each of the photos you put up and how you enjoy taking them. It has been extremely cold here too, so I am ready for the warmer weather to come. Great Job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59214.68
ETH 2622.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44