Follow Up On The Drunk Dog

in #homesteading7 years ago

This post is the conclusion to my story of my drunken Mexican puppy.

So what happened? What make my puppy suddenly very drunk? Alcohol? Weed? Some mushroom she ate? CO2 poisoning?

Nope!

Bread.

When I got home from the vet, I found that she had gotten into the trash where I had thrown away raw bread dough. I can't remember why I threw it away (I probably didn't have enough gas in my apartment to bake it then). I told this to the vet and he explained how bread can continue to rise and release CO2 in the dog's gut. In addition to the CO2, the yeast continues to produce ethanol, essentially making the dog drunk.

I would never have willingly given her raw dough, but I also never would have thought it would have been that bad for her! While my story has a happy ending, many dogs die every year from consuming raw bread dough. Hopefully, if there's anyone out there who didn't know raw bread dough could be dangerous, they can learn from my mistake!!

To prove she survived, this is her today...getting in trouble for WALKING AROUND THE FIREPLACE and getting covered in soot!!!

IMG_0968.JPG

Sort:  

That is good to know!!

Very nic

Poor pup! She's cute

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63835.35
ETH 2630.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82