50 Things You Can Do To Get Started Homesteading Wherever You Are!!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

taylor-kiser-361164.jpg

For me, homesteading means actively pursuing a lifestyle of self-sufficiency. By providing for myself and my family, I can keep more of our hard-earned dollars in the home.

The Soul of Money by Lynne Twist talks about money in a unique way. She calls attention to the fact that money is neither good nor evil, but our intentions with it can be. It is a current-cy, a mode through which our energy or intentions can travel. We can (and should!) spend money on what's important to us! We should direct our currency towards what we value in life.

For me, by buying quality organic foods, often from my local community, I am sending a message that quality nutrition and my neighbors matter to me. By purchasing quality clothing or homegoods (or - even better - making them myself) I'm saying I value craftsmanship and quality and my own ability to create more than something slapped together in a sweat shop in China.

So if homesteading is pursuing self-sufficiency, and directing our currency towards what's important to us, we can get started homesteading no matter where we are. Whether we're on an 100 acre family farm or an apartment in the city, there are ways we can all homestead -- and most are free, or almost free!

I've gathered my top 50...

Cook from scratch

Buy in bulk

Learn how to can

Use less electricity

Learn how to sew

Learn how to knit

Learn how to crochet

Learn woodworking

Learn basic car maintenance and repair

Make your own all natural house cleaners

Grow medicinal herbs (in pots)

Learn how to make herbal teas

Learn how to make herbal salves

Learn herbal medicine

Learn how to make medicinal tinctures

Meditate or take regular time out for yourself

Spend time in nature

Learn yoga (there are tons of videos on youtube)

Learn first aid and CPR

Grow vegetables in pots (tomatoes and garlic and onions are great potted veggies to grow)

Learn food fermentation

Learn how to can

Learn how to dry or freeze food

Learn how to make butter and cheese

Hunt

Fish

Join a CSA

If you have a deep freezer, buy half a cow or half a pig

Learn how to brew your own beer/wine/whiskey

Learn how to tap trees for syrup

Learn how to forage for plants and mushrooms in your area

Compost or try vermiculture if you have the space

Line dry your clothes

Ditch the tv, or at least cable

Make your own candles

Install rain barrels

Get a small solar panel to charge your small electronics like phone or kindles.

Read, read, read

Watch homesteading videos on youtube

Join homesteading Facebook groups to surround yourself with like-minded people

Get your friends and family involved – it’s always more fun with friends!

Sign up for newsletter for a few of your favorite homesteading blogs. Surrounding yourself with knowledgeable people and getting behind-the-scenes look into the lifestyle of other homesteaders will give you an endless source of ideas, recipes and information!

Sort:  

Very good list!

An excellent #healthy-home post!
Peace

Love the article and the suggestions. What a challenging checklist!
upvote, following to see what comes next!

Oh YEAH! This could be my list too!

One day I will learn to make candles. Ive conquered the soap making and started fermenting now, so candles need to be coming soon

They are so simple @goldendawne ! You'd pick it up in no time! I feel like it's way easier than soap!

You are a treasure trove of tips and tricks for fine country living, and this post is a good example. I can see you creating posts for each of these 50, and I eagerly await the day when you share your tips for handcrafted candles, homebrewed beverages, homemade herbal remedies... I'm upping and resteeming.

Thank you @cabelindsay ! That's a fabulous idea! I have mead and apple cider vinegar brewing right now, am planning my Spring medicinal garden, and haven't made candles in awhile, but I don't see why I can't make some soon! I will definitely make a post about each of these!

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked and featured in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you!

LOVE this list- Since there are 52 weeks in the year, one COULD learn one a week and be well on their way... you've given me lots to think about @aibell! <3

What a great idea! Maybe I'll break this into a weekly how-to series!

Wow! Do I know how to do everuthing on that list!? It’s certainly a goal I’d want to work toward

This is such a cornerstone list! Wonderful suggestions to everyone who is starting out, and for the rest of us to revisit regularly. Homesteading is such a cyclical lifestyle where we are blessed to come back to these skills time and time again. Thank-you for posting!

Yes! Thank you! You put exactly into words how I feel - even those of us who have mastered some of the skills, we can always go back and revisit them. Learn new recipes, or a new woodworking trick, or figure out new ways to be more self-sufficient! Like taking a knife back to the grinding wheel to resharpen our skills!

water-bath canning is one of the easiest things i've learned how to do - i encourage everyone to try it at least for a season!

I like this list! I have plans on crossing quite a few off of my list this year, along the lines of perserves and herbal things, including natural cleaning stuff and beauty care. Its great to know many people have the same goals, let us work on them and share our progress on here together! its quite inspiring!

Just followed you @skycae ! I'll share everything I learn this next year and hope to learn from you as well!

Thanks eh! I am excited for us all to share and learn together. The winter is a great time for ideas, but I think this summer will be really awesome for the homesteading community and we will get a lot done!

It's hard to do anything but plan in the Winter! The Spring and summer I thought we'll see the homestead community flourish! Gardening, animals, foraging, canning...I can't wait to see everyone's projects and share some of my own!

yeah same haha, I cant wait to pick wildberries and herbs and share the beauty, and share in everyone elses beauty. I am so stoked for summer!

I must say though, it is good that spring isnt here yet, I got a lot more planning to do haha.

I like how you define homesteading!
According to this understanding I am a 25 yr veteran, 3 yrs into relocating to the woods. I like that, I can work with that. Thanks!

I don't want people to think the term homesteading is exclusive. ANYONE can homestead ANYWHERE. It's a mindset, not a number of acres. Checking out your blog now! I want to hear more about your relocation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22