You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gasoline from a plant? Tree Tuesday - Kind off

in #homesteading6 years ago

I wouldn't grow a plant that could blind me--I'm too careless. Also, how does it not hurt animals that eat it? Perplexing, considering we use animal studies as first-line trials in drug development. Interesting article. I'll be sure to stay away from milkbush, or whatever else it is called.

Sort:  

I agree that it seems odd that cattle can eat it - I had found the cattle feed info on one website when I was looking for its proper name and didn't question it since sometimes items poisonous to one species are just fine for another.
So, I did a bit more research after your comment (and I should have done it before) and found this article https://pubs.acs.org/doi/full/10.1021/bk-2013-1127.ch001?src=recsys
Here, it says that cattle does not like it so much and that it is used for corral fencing. Also as firewood and as a ground cover in areas where nothing else will grow.
I di

That's a very interesting article. Usually, I believe in the wisdom of folk remedies, but sometimes they can be deadly--arsenic and mercury used to be popular remedies, weren't they? Article does say the latex exuded by the plant is caustic. So, my instincts are probably good--cattle agree with me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41