Quick intro

Hi Steemit! I just wanted to introduce myself really quickly. I'll be putting up an intro video sometime soon so I'll make this fairly brief, I just wanted to put SOMETHING up to get that awkward first post out of the way. 

So, hi! I'm Stephanie, my husband John and I live on a small homestead/hobby farm in South Texas. We didn't set out to be homesteaders, when we bought our property in 09 we were living in an apartment with 3 crazy dogs and just needed more space. We wound up finding a great deal on a house with nearly 6 acres and things just kinda snowballed from there. 

Since we lived in the country it seemed only natural to get a few chickens. Well anyone who has had chickens knows about a little thing called chicken math. Chicken math states that "just a few" chickens will soon multiply. In our case, they multiplied into around 25 chickens, a couple ducks, geese, and a goat. 

Before a year had gone by at our new house we already had a full blown case of homesteading fever. Unfortunately life had other plans and the homestead got put on the back burner. 

After several rough years which included my family moving in with us and my mother-in-law passing from pancreatic cancer, we were left in shambles. It took us nearly 2 years to recover emotionally and get back to a place where we could focus on our homestead again.

Over the last year we've been plotting and planning away, full of ideas for our little homestead. I started gardening (unsuccessfully so far) again, our goat herd has grown from 3 to 9, we added rabbits and a pig, and we have more chickens than ever. With both of us working full-time outside of the house, we began to find ourselves getting overwhelmed with the amount of work. There just weren't enough hours in the day to get everything done, so we came up with a plan for me to work from home and 3 weeks ago today I quit my job.

So that's our homestead story so far, John and I couldn't be more excited to finally be back on the journey we started so many years ago. We'll be sharing our journey along the way, I hope it inspires or at least entertains someone out there.

Sort:  

Looking forward to more posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33