You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are You A "Fig Pig"? Then Go Ahead and Grow Those Fig...In Canada and The USA.....What?

I love figs. . it took me a few years to finally find them in a store being sold fresh. Those things do not keep long, and they're almost a dollar each, so you have to eat the entire box that day!

I always remember hearing "Figs are inside out flowers", the truth is as follows:

"Although commonly referred to as a fruit, the fig is actually the infructescence or scion of the tree, known as a false fruit or multiple fruit, in which the flowers and seeds are borne. It is a hollow-ended stem containing many flowers. The small orifice (ostiole) visible on the middle of the fruit is a narrow passage, which allows the specialized fig wasp Blastophaga psenes to enter the fruit and pollinate the flower. . ."

I'll follow any Canadian, especially one who grows figs! I once had a fig tree that grew outside in the ground and lasted fine in the Winters of Ontario, so maybe give me a follow too ; )

Sort:  

really outside in winter, in Ontario. Wow...I would have thought so, but who knew.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67