You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Becoming a Gardener

Wishing you success! I think that gardening can start with small projects. My flatmate manages to grow delicious herbs and vegetables on our tiny balcony. I think she has green fingers, but she insists that anyone could do it. And gardening will surely be something for your children to help with?
Looking forward to hearing about your progress!

Sort:  

Oh, you brought up a sweet memory! When @guntotnhippie and I were first married we lived in an apartment with a balcony. I went crazy growing herbs and flowers. I was putting basil in everything for quite some time!

Yes, the kids s love to help with outside projects. Although the 2 & 5 year old get a little overZ

Sounds like you're already a gardener :D

Haha basil does seem to grow exuberantly. My boyfriend has an organic herb garden on his balcony and the basil always grows faster than we can eat it. Sadly less so with the mint and parsley. Fresh thyme is my favourite.

Yes! We planted some thyme this last year and I used it almost daily! I actually prefer it to basil now. We also use a lot of parsley. Good stuff!

I agree with @crowbarmama - this brings up memories :0)
On one of my first appartments I had this very tiny balcony which was filled with containers in which I grew all kinds of herbs and lettuce :0)
That’s how my passion for gardening started..

Isn't amazing how well things can grow on a balcony? I suppose it's a sun trap and offers especially mild conditions because of the protection from the house itself.

Probably. It was a south-faced balcony, so I guess that must have been my luck :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62449.67
ETH 2429.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58