You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Your Power Goes Out You Realize How Ready You Really Are... Or Not

@goldendawne,
That sucks about the power outage. It always catches you off-guard​. Here are a couple​ of things that I set up​ in my home to help minimize the impact.

  1. I got those cheap tap lights​ from Walmart​. They are battery powered and have a wall mount hole. I put one on the wall beside the light switch in each room. That way, if the power goes out, you just have to push the button on the light and each room has light.
  2. I freeze soda bottles filled with water and leave them in the freezer. If the power goes out, you can leave some in the freezer and put some in the fridge.
  3. Get a Mr. ​Heater Heat Buddy. These run on those small propane bottles and are safe for inside. Each of those little propane bottles can last about 8 hours.
  4. Get or make a little battery power bank. They sell the Goal Zero ones, a little expensive. You can make one too, lots of instructions​ on the internet. I have a Goal Zero Yeti 400. It is good for keeping your phone charged. Also, ​it can run a box fan for over 5 hours. Just make sure you keep it charged.

Good luck,
@tincanjunction

Sort:  

all good ideas. :) I still have a land line for a phone. When the power is out if you have an old rotary phone it will work

GREAT ideas!! Trust me I'm on the hunt for alternative lighting, heating and other necessities right now. We had an ice storm yesterday morning and I was praying every minute for the power to stay on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66