Gardening: Harvesting a Crunchy Bean Sprout Salad in The Winter

in #homesteadersonline7 years ago (edited)

It can be hard to find fresh local salad in the dead of winter. In just few days with little or no light you can grow sprouts as a highly nutritious alternative. Of course they're not only for Winter, sprouts can be enjoyed any time of the year.

sprout7.jpg

All you need are sprouting seeds, a mason jar with a screen instead of the lid, water, and two sprout rinse sessions a day. Almost any sprout-able, edible, vegetable seed, bean, or grain will do.

I'm trying out Mumm's Sprouting Seeds, the Crunchy Bean Mix: Peas, lentils, garbanzo beans.

sprout1.jpg

Four Tablespoons of Sprouting Seed Mix go into the Sprouting Jar. The jar is filled with water to just above the seeds, gently swirled, then emptied.

sproutsoak.jpg

Fill the jar 3/4 with water, the seeds will soak up a lot of water in this soaking stage, soak for 6 to 12 hours.

sprout2.jpg

Empty the water out of the jar through the screen. Leave the jar upside down, at an angle in a bowl so any left over water can drain.

sproutrinse.jpg

Twice a day the jar needs to be filled with water, the sprouts gently swirled, emptied then left upside down in the bowl.

sprout5.jpg

After a few days there is a plate full of sprouts.

sprout8.jpg

These sprouts are ready to eat by the handful, as a side, on a salad, on a sandwich, in a wrap, in a stir fry, in a soup, or in many other dishes.

fridgesprouts.jpg

I'll put these sprouts in the fridge to keep them fresh for later.

Here's a link to the Post about when I received the Sprout Seeds:

https://steemit.com/gardening/@jackdub/gardening-seeds-for-sprouting-seeds-for-the-garden-seeds-for-eating-seeds-for-life

Have a great day! :)

Sort:  

Man this brings back memeories of my hippie veggie neighbors. Please tell me you know a killer veggie burger recipe too!

I haven't made one before, but I've wanted to, so soon enough I'll come up with one.. Thanks :D

Awesome! I remember they had a ton of sprouts growing in their house all the time, mostly the smaller ones. The burgers where so good, they would sell them at he fair. I had them once and only once an I was hooked. I haven’t been able to fine one like it since. 😢
I hope you make a killer one and share

Great tutorial. Gotta get me some sprouting seeds!

I'm going to be trying these ones with a grilled sandwich tomorrow when a friend comes to visit. Thanks :)

Those look great. That's something to add to my list. Thanks.

Someone could eat pretty healthy for a while with a big bag of grain, a big bag of beans, and bean sprouts. Salt and pepper and some herbs would be nice too :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30