You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hugelkultur bed started but there is a logistical obstacle.

Wow, @phedizzle, this is informative! Some of my friends are taking a tree out from the front of their home this week. I bet they would love to see how you did these. They're new to Steemit, so I will be pointing them this way.

Sort:  

Sure thing! I didn't explain with much detail exactly what a hugelkulture bed is so it would probably help them better understand if they learned a bit about them. @carpedimus gave a really concise explanation here on the msp weekly sustainability curation as an intro to my post.

If they can use that wood onsite it will probably save some cost. Like @amberyooper said, they're pretty labor intensive to get setup but they're great after that because very little needs done if planted with perennials or self seeding chop n drop plants and mulched really well with leaves, hay, straw over the winter

Know what is so crazy, @phedizzle?

I shared the link and he told me this is what they just started doing on their property! He showed me some of the new beds last week, but they were a little different than yours and he didn't know the name 'til i showed him your post.

Kinda neato! lol

Did he put them in raised beds? I wanna do it that way too. Looks nicer. The only thing I'm concerned with here is we have a groundhog that might appreciate a large mound to live, eat, and hibernate in haha. Glad to hear he's already doing hugelkulture. It's...well... intuitive =p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44