Our Chickens - Snow Chicks

in #homesteadersonline7 years ago (edited)

20180117_125705 - Copy (1).JPG
One of the Dove Sisters, Pete, Repeat, Dr. Quinn, and Hawk-Eye. That's little Willie Nelson heading our way!


A few weeks ago we had a bit of snow. It's the first for this winter and the first for 2018. We let the chickens out of their enclosure a sunny day before it melted so they could do their thing. They burst out of the gate and into the great white unknown with enthusiasm.


20180117_125644 - Copy (1).JPG
Loretta Lynn, our fat little terrier, has no time for chicken shenanigans.


20180117_125650 - Copy (1).JPG
She's going into the pen to look for kitchen scraps the chickens picked over to see if there is anything left for her chubby butt.


20180117_125646 - Copy (1).JPG
Pete...or is it Repeat?


20180117_125653 - Copy (1).JPG
Pete/Repeat stretching his wings, Lloyd, and Pigeon


20180117_125739 - Copy (1).JPG
Cluck Norris crossing the driveway looking for some ladies to woo.


20180117_125933 - Copy (1).JPG
The flock adventuring over to the tractor equipment.


20180117_125942 - Copy (1).JPG
No, Dovey...that's an old paintbush...


20180117_130015 - Copy (1).JPG
Phoenix


20180117_130017 - Copy (1).JPG


20180117_130019 - Copy (1).JPG
The other Dove Sister, Lovey.


20180118_132759.jpg


We've been getting an average of 3-4 eggs per day! That's awesome, I think. I can't wait to have so many that we are able to give them away to our friends again!


20180118_132805.jpg


20180120_130800.jpg
A rainbow of eggs


So the chickens are doing great! The coop is clean. Water is always fresh. Food is always plentiful. They seem to be pretty happy. I can't wait to build our new, bigger coop and get everyone settled!
Stay tuned!
Badges.jpg

Sort:  

Cluck Norris, now that's a new Chicken name, must remember to share that with my farmer friends. Thanks for the chuckle

I'm so glad it made you laugh! Hope you're having a good one, @canadianwoodguy. Thanks for stopping by!

Happy chickens!! I'm so glad you are getting eggs again.

They look like they enjoyed themselves on their outing! My dogs do the same thing if I'm not watching. No eat all the chicken food. Hahaha

I'm really surprised at the iron stomachs dogs can have!
Thanks for stopping by, @hopfarmnc!

So fun to see them enjoying themselves! A sunny day in winter is a cause for celebration in spite of the snow.

Gorgeous eggs! The colors never cease to amaze.

Thanks, @aunt-deb! It's so neat to see the different colors eggs can be. (Hey, that rhymed!)

I get the biggest kick out of your animals’ names! :D

I do too! Edit: I also get a huge kick out of the names. I’m not nearly so creative.

I've always loved naming things. Sometimes it takes a while, but eventually the perfect name comes to me. :)

I usually leave the naming of animals to my husband and kids. The last animal I named was named out of anger. I have one chicken that insists on perching on the fence at night. With all the raccoons around here, that’s just not safe. So I have to go get her off the fence and put her to bed every night. Well, she hates sleeping with the other chickens, so she scratches and bites me all the way across the yard. So I named her Chicken Shit.

I am going to be clucking, I mean chuckling, all night. haha

Oh you're so lucky to be getting 3-4 eggs a day! Wow, that's pretty good, I think! LOL We aren't getting any. I think all the chickens are happy the snow went away! Deep in the middle of winter 2018, personally I do hope we get some more snow this year :)

I wouldn't mind more snow. For sure. How old are your chickens? The five we got in 2015 stopped in July 2017 and never started again. They're scheduled to be culled when we ever get around to that dirty deed.

Love it! Following. Those chickens are adorable! I notice you have multiple roosters. Do you have problems with fighting? I always had ducks, but I would like some chickens eventually.

There's a tussle here and there, but the four big ones were chicks together so they don't fight with each other as much as they fight with Lloyd, the older, but smaller rooster. We actually have plans to cull four of them, as sad as that makes me. We just have no need for 5 roosters with only 11 hens.

Yeah, thats an unfortunate truth. May I ask, how do you do your culling? I'm not sure what method I will use. Just want it to be as quick and painless as possible for the little guys. A distasteful reality that we have to kill things in order to live. :/

This will be our first time doing the deed. I'm also hoping for it to be as quick and painless as possible. I'd keep them all, even the ones who no longer lay, but we just can't keep feeding them and continuing to get nothing back. We're going to share the meat with friends so it will at least not be for nothing.

Totally understandable. This is the way things are, and you will likely give them a quicker death than they would ever get in nature, and a better life than they could possibly get in the factory-farming system.

Absolutely! :)

Cluck Norris & Repete. Best names ever!! hahaha Gonna be laughing about that all night now. They have enthusiasm all over their feathers. Bet it felt nice for them to get out and enjoy the sun. You're getting a good amount of eggs for winter! My uncle's hens slow way down this time of year.

Haha! Thanks, @phedizzle. I am surprised at the number of eggs we are getting! We must have some happy chickens.

the eggs look so clean
which name do you give the egg..hhaha

I call the eggs Omelette! Hahaha!

Nice name. Sounds like some kind of food! Hahaha

means the chicken can also feel the winter and the chicken can be eggs every day @hethur240

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60986.74
ETH 2636.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63