My Greenhouse - Plans for Next Spring - Chinese Five Color Peppers

Chinese-five-color-web.jpg
Source


During this past year's growing season, I planted three different kinds of hot peppers. My family doesn't eat hot peppers so I don't really know what I was thinking. They took up space other vegetables we DO consume could have had. So next Spring I am only growing one kind of hot pepper. The Chinese Five Color.


I chose this pepper mainly because its produce is so pretty! I only plan on growing one plant of these. They take 2-6 weeks to germinate, and 80-90 days to mature. It is best to start them indoors 8 to 10 weeks before the last frost. For me, that means starting them in March! I hope I remember! Each fruit is approximately 1" to 2" long. So they won't get huge. For that I am grateful. As I said, my family doesn't really consume hot peppers so the fewer and smaller I get, the better. My Korean mother-in-law will get the majority of them. She eats the hottest peppers like they were candy. shudder


I previously posted about Parisienne Carrots I plan on growing next year as well. I'm already excited for Spring and it isn't even officially Winter yet!


What are your plans for peppers next year? Are you planting any screaming hot ones, like these? Or some sweet bell peppers? I have heard they will accidentally cross pollinate. Have you ever had trouble with that? I didn't notice any trouble last year, but who knows what will happen. Thanks for reading and stay tuned for more! Have a terrific day!

Sort:  

They are so colorful! You will have rainbows in your greenhouse! I am hoping to get some good crisp bell peppers this year. I dont eat any of the pepper family but aden loves a good sweet pepper now and then. Might have to trade in the gardens this spring, ill plant some okra and stuff for you, you grow me a pepper lol!

That is a wonderful idea!!! Share cropping!!! I love it!

Wow they are very nice and colorful. I bought some of them 7 years ago. Now unfortunately I dont have anybody to take care about plants when I travel, but hope to do it soon again :)

We had a housesitter when we were gone for two weeks to Yellowstone. I lost all my cucumbers and my squash because she didn't care for them at all. It was so disappointing. Next time I'm just putting soaker hoses in and setting a water timer. Then I won't have the worry of it.

Oh thats very sad. Many people dont care about plants and animals :(

My plans for next year are about the same...

  • jalapeno.
  • harbanero
  • pepperoncinis
  • cayenne
  • mixed baby bells

I absolutely love your greenhouse updates!

Thanks so much, @goldendawne! Peppers are just too fun to grow! I'm going to focus more on sweet peppers this year, since I use them way more often than hot ones.

We like hot peppers! And as a family we really didn't have much to do with hot peppers until we arrived in Central America. The key is to add small amounts to your food to begin with and then build up a tolerance. The capsicum in hot peppers is good for your heart health. We eat lots of habaneros or scotch peppers now because of their flavour rather than for the sake of the heat.

I'm a big baby when it comes to heat. My husband is the one with the stomach for it, he and my youngest. I really should build up my tolerance. I had poblano pepper sauce once and wasn't sure if it was the heat from them or if I was having an allergic reaction to some shrimp!

Probably the shrimp! It seems to be culprit many times. We like the habeneros because they have a slight after taste that is fruity. Start small, perhaps a quarter hot pepper to a pot of chilli. Ehen that goes well add a bit more next time.

My dad is allergic to shrimp, it's best I avoid them and other shellfish. Thanks for the tip! I'll see what I can slip past the family... Haha!

Inspired by your post and going to search Chinese Five Colour Peppers now! How pretty are they :) We love hot and had a bumper crop of all manner of chillies last and this year. We have been making fiery chilli jam which is fab with cheese, pate and cold cuts. Hope to step up our gardening adventures once we move to our house in Bulgaria next year so have upvoted and followed for a dose of inspiration ;0 Happy growing xox

That's so cool! I had so many hot peppers this year, I dehydrated what was left. Thank you for your comment! I appreciate it. :)

Two years ago I planted a few types of hot peppers (hungarian hot yellows and joe parkers) and ended up dehydrating them because, well, one can only eat so many. Lately, I finally started adding a tablespoon or two of the dehydrated powder to my soups and it really enhances the flavour nicely, so next year I plan to grow some different varieties. The Chinese Five Colors sound interesting.

I dehydrated jalapenos this year and they're so hard, even my food processor can't pulverize them. I add a couple slivers to what I'm cooking and remind the kids not to eat them whole if they end up on their plate. How did you get yours to a powder?

I slice them up first...and also remove the seeds. When they dry, they're leathery and I use my Ninja to break them down more. They're kinda half powder and half little pieces. I ferment jalapenos because they seem to be the only peppers that don't get real mushy. I never dehydrated them...maybe they are a lot firmer and dry harder?

I think their walls are just too thick. I know now I should have probably sliced them thinner...and next time I'll be sure to wear gloves. That was a nasty experience.

Been there! Cutting up hot peppers without gloves is something you never do twice! Touching your eyes is another 👀

I did both. The pain didn't start until almost four hours after I finished processing the peppers. By that time, there was no going back.

I love me some hot peppers! I would encourage everyone to gain a tolerance and love for them. There are a lot of health benefits to capsaicin, the chemical that gives peppers there heat.

I grow these type every year for their colorful flowers and fruit. For me they always come out purple until later in the year, the colors must be day daylight hour sensitive. They have a good flavor and decent heat. Good luck and enjoy!

Thank you, @theferalone! That's good to know!

Those are beautiful! I would want to grow them, too if I could. I simply do not get enough sunlight here in the woods once the leaves are on the trees. I love dreaming of the things I will grow once spring comes, though! Mostly flowers..impatients and begonias do well.

That's too bad. Shade definitely has its pros and cons. I hope you will share photos of your flowers when Spring comes again! Love to you and yours.

I love these peppers. They are very small, but the plants just produce gobs and gobs of the little guys! They are hot, but I wouldn't say 'screaming hot', as they are described on the back of the Baker Creek seed pack.

Hot peppers have their place -- in someone else's garden! ; )
I generally grow some heat, but not the super hot peppers. I like Anaheims, Poblanos, and even a few milder Jalapenos. Those last ones are great smoked and really good for making chili or a pot of beans or black-eyed peas super tasty without being too hot.

The spring weather here in Oregon's Willamette Valley is generally so cool and wet. If I transplant peppers the last week of May or first week of June, my plants catch up with the ones people put out weeks earlier. I get more benefit from extending the autumn season than pushing the spring.

Happy garden planning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76