My Flower Gardens - Crocuses Up and Blooming!

20180304_170043.jpg

I knew yesterday we were supposed to get heavy rain over night. I spent a few minutes taking photos of my newly bloomed crocus flowers before the rain destroyed them.

To me the crocus shows that even though winter may be long and dark, spring will always come back.

20180304_170037.jpg

20180304_170039.jpg

20180304_170051.jpg

20180304_170055.jpg

In addition to my purple crocuses I also have some white with purple stripes. Some people also have yellow! I've never had yellow ones.

20180304_170059.jpg

20180304_170101.jpg

The violets are really growing as well! They spread like crazy, but I really don't mind. They bloom continuously through the spring and summer.

20180304_170103.jpg

Some of my peonies have peeked through the soil! I'm really surprised Buttercup and Blossom haven't just trampled everything.

20180304_170111.jpg

I love that my garden is coming alive again. I'm going to be checking it daily so I don't miss anything new. Also so I can try to keep the dogs from running through there like it's a straightaway.

Thanks for looking! Stay tuned!

Banner 1.jpg

Badges.jpg

Sort:  

I’ve got to get some crocus growing in my yard! Especially after reading a post that @medicinewheel did last week about a super cool culinary use for crocus.

Oh. My. Gosh. I had no idea that was where Saffron came from. That really is super cool!

Right?!?!?!

Beautiful photos!
Im miss that about living up North, seeing the crocus come up through the snow in the spring...

No crocuses where you live? I don't remember where you're from, I'm sorry. Haha. Unfortunately, we've barely had any snow this winter so we won't have that pretty scene.

South GA here. Im from Ohio originally, and always loved the daffolils and crocus in the early spring.
Here, however, its not so dramatic. Ive not seen crocus down here, but that doesnt mean it cant grow here, Im not sure. Daffodils grow here, but they come out along with other regular spring flowers, so its not quite as magical, lol.
Spring here comes early. It warmed up in early February, and has been 'springish' ever since then.

Yay! I know the feeling well. It makes me so happy to see the first flowers come up. Snowdrops and yellow crocus here. I must go out and check on the garlic! ❤️

I'm going to plant garlic for the first time this year! I'm going to do it from some of the bulbs I have saved back. They will be in halves of 55 gallon drums. Thanks for popping by, @anise!

Beautiful Pictures. I too get outside everyday, looking and pulling back leaves and pine needles to see if anything else popped up. So exciting!

Thank you! Has anything started poking its little head out in your area yet?

Peonies, Lenten Rose, Daffodils, woods poppy, spiderwort, evening primrose, Shasta daisies, couple of trilliums and daffodils. I am like a little girl on a treasure hunt outside, bent over with my stick poking around. My favorite time of day right now. I hope you find surprises today :)

Those first few peeks of spring are just enough to perk up from the winter blues. Best of luck keeping the furkids off of them!

Haha! Thanks, @aunt-deb. Pleasure to have you come by.

Beautiful! I can't wait for mine to come up. You are just a little ahead of us.

I hope you share them! I love seeing others' gardens. :)

My crocus flowers are about a week out still. Today the weather was all over the place sunny, snow, sleet, and rain. March is coming in as a lion.
Love

It is! You're right! Certainly some strong and terrible winds we have been having. I can't wait for you to share them!

very good post, beautiful flowers can spoil the eyes, very happy for who have and see it, thank you submissions.

Wow, gorgeous colors. Mother nature wakes up. Time for spring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31