You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Livestock: To register, or not to register? That is the question....

I grew up in 4-H and learned a lot about judging animals. I even went to the Nationals.

To me, it's far more important to have the correct body form for the purpose at hand. To not be breeding in bad conformation or traits. (Think collies narrow heads and Goldens with bad hips....) I think way back registered stock tended to be the best produced.

If I were breeding something, I would only register the ones I felt would improve the breed and eat the rest. I'm just thinking of registered Morgans that no longer even look like a Morgan, and most certainly can't not perform like the original Morgans could. We don't eat horses, but I certainly would not register one that looked like an American Saddlebred.

If it were chickens, I'd be looking for depth of body, breadth of pelvic bones, and specific characteristics that define the particular breed. But I would not sacrifice laying ability to perfect feathering.

So I think by registering animals of quality, not registering could be a way of eliminating the poorer specimens.

Sort:  

That is a very good point!!
I absolutely would not register a goat with bad conformation or defects of any kind. I think improving the breed is a great thing to strive for, no matter the species. It is quite true that nowadays there are many breeds of various animals that are just nothing like the original breed standard due to poor quality animals being allowed to breed.

Thanks for bringing that up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65769.61
ETH 2674.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86